We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy and convenient for a family stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cabins at Brookside
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy and convenient for a family stay”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in Cabin 6 for a mid-summer visit to Shenandoah. We've previously stayed at other mountainside-style cabins, and were impressed with the Brookside. It's simple, clean and well-appointed lodging with easy access (via 211) to hiking in Shenandoah National Park and attractions in downtown Luray. The Cabin 6 layout (two separate bed/bath combos and a separate living room/sitting/eating area) was perfect for setting up a porta-crib in its own room and for hanging out after kid bedtime. Yes, as other reviewers have said, the window ACs are loud, but frankly, AC is often a luxury in cabin settings, so we weren't complaining. Rates during high season are comparable to some hotel rates, but the personal space and home-like feel of the cabin is definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunwiththisMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    33
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
99
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mathews, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We traveled with our two-year-old son and stayed in Cabin 7. The website gave the impression that the cabins were quiet and secluded but failed to mention that they are located right on the main highway. Jacuzzi was nice after a long travel and the brook behind the cabin was great for wading with my son, but the perks end there. The decor is outdated, the cabin smelled musty (I sneezed uncontrollably from check-in to check-out), and the bathroom was full of water damage. This is not a place to bring a toddler, as there are just too many tacky nicknacks for them to get a hold of. Overall...overpriced and overrated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTrudging09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at Cabin number 3, and it was just lovely. Clean, cozy, romantic, the hot tube was perfect right in the middle of the room. The cabins are very well localized, the breakfast is also very good, we chose the buffet and had a delicious meal. The staff is very welcoming and friendly. Would definitively recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaLoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have stayed at the Brookside Cabins on many occasions and, by this time, in most every type cabin of the variety that they offer. The cabins have the rustic exterior but the interiors have a contemporary finish and they are well appointed with comfortable furniture and 'country' decor. I think that most have (gas) fireplaces. All have A/C which you should only need during the real summer months. Several have jacuzzis, one (at least) has a complete kitchen and basic tablewear. Comfortable beds. NO TVs. Rooms can be attended to (or not) each day if desired and fresh towels are delivered each day. There is a small restaurant attached to the property that serves simple, country diner fare but in a very appealing and tasty manner. Often there is a buffet and they make their own bread. The service is very good with honest sincerity dispensed by a local staff who make you feel welcome. It is a popular local gathering point, especially on Sunday. Even though, we have never waited long for a table, if at all. The best part of the location is, of course, the BROOK that became the namesake of the cabins. It runs behind each and every one (some with back decks a bit closer than others) and the sound effect is the perfect background for relaxing, reading, or falling asleep! The times after a big rain are the best for the brook but we have never seen it very dry or not running. The cabins are located right off the main east-west route (VA Rt 211) which makes it convenient but not a place where you could let young children 'go out and play'. It would also be a good place for several familes to share multiple cabins, share kitchens and back deck spaces, etc. We love it there and we'll be going back next month. If you go, say 'hi' to Diane in the gift shop (oh, did I mention the gift and sundries shop?) The town of Luray is a five minute drive and has several good local restaurants as well as the Caverns, the beautiful Carillon, a movie theater, and a thriving local arts and music scene.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillBurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We loved being able to sit out on our private deck overlooking a babbling brook in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley and watch the fireflies as night fell...
But that's about all we loved about Brookside. Maybe it's our English taste but it all felt a bit grubby and tacky and the in-room hot tub (which we didn't use) made the room smell of chlorine, which perhaps we should have expected.
Clearly there are lots of people who love this place but, if you're British, take a good, hard look at the photos before you book. You pay in advance and it's not cheap. We wanted a cabin experience and we had one but it wasn't the one we expected. Simple and rustic would have been lovely. This wasn't that. But neither was it a 'lucurious' experience as promised in the brochure.
And the food in the family restaurant wasn't good at all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This was our 3rd time staying at Brookside Cabins and again we loved every minute. This is was our last place to stay before heading back home from our 2 week honeymoon trip around the country. After being in many cities, it was nice to come back to Luray, Virginia and get away from the big cities. The staff once again has been extremely helpful and even after we got home, I called Brookside when I discovered one my son's story books was missing and they found it underneath the bed, and even mailed it back to us, making for one very happy little boy! We will definetely be back again, maybe for our anniversary!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmofire5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The cabin is lovely, very comfortable, clean and welcoming. Lovely fluffy towels and high quality bedding is a delight. The owners have thought of everything to make our stay just perfect and even include a flyswatter and a torch! (not that we needed either) the rear verandah is private and looks onto a pretty babbling brook and is very peaceful. The front porch also has seating and it's nice to sit back and watch the world go by. If you are thinking of visiting brookside cabins, you will not be disappointed , they are lovely .

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lankslass2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
4.6 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
984 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
4.5 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#2 of 9 in Luray
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
132 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
15.9 mi away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabins at Brookside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabins at Brookside

Property: The Cabins at Brookside
Address: 2978 US Highway 211 E, Luray, VA 22835-4767
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than eighty years, Brookside has been welcoming guests from around the world in Luray, Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, USA. Our vacation rental cabins are near the entrance to Shenandoah National Park. The rear of the cabins open to decks or sun rooms which overlook a scenic bubbling brook. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cabins At Brookside Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing