We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location but the room really wasn't for us”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cabins at Brookside
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Luray
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but the room really wasn't for us”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We loved being able to sit out on our private deck overlooking a babbling brook in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley and watch the fireflies as night fell...
But that's about all we loved about Brookside. Maybe it's our English taste but it all felt a bit grubby and tacky and the in-room hot tub (which we didn't use) made the room smell of chlorine, which perhaps we should have expected.
Clearly there are lots of people who love this place but, if you're British, take a good, hard look at the photos before you book. You pay in advance and it's not cheap. We wanted a cabin experience and we had one but it wasn't the one we expected. Simple and rustic would have been lovely. This wasn't that. But neither was it a 'lucurious' experience as promised in the brochure.
And the food in the family restaurant wasn't good at all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    32
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
96
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This was our 3rd time staying at Brookside Cabins and again we loved every minute. This is was our last place to stay before heading back home from our 2 week honeymoon trip around the country. After being in many cities, it was nice to come back to Luray, Virginia and get away from the big cities. The staff once again has been extremely helpful and even after we got home, I called Brookside when I discovered one my son's story books was missing and they found it underneath the bed, and even mailed it back to us, making for one very happy little boy! We will definetely be back again, maybe for our anniversary!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmofire5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The cabin is lovely, very comfortable, clean and welcoming. Lovely fluffy towels and high quality bedding is a delight. The owners have thought of everything to make our stay just perfect and even include a flyswatter and a torch! (not that we needed either) the rear verandah is private and looks onto a pretty babbling brook and is very peaceful. The front porch also has seating and it's nice to sit back and watch the world go by. If you are thinking of visiting brookside cabins, you will not be disappointed , they are lovely .

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lankslass2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We found this place at the last minute for the Memorial Day Weekend. They only had a one bedroom cabin left and that worked perfect for us. Of course there is was no TV in it but that was just fine because we made it there just in time to go eat at their Restaurant which the food was really good and then sat outside and listened to the stream that runs in the back of the cabins before turning in for the night. They have a gift shop there also and everyone at the shop and restaurant were very friendly and made our visit very enjoyable. Will go back again just to get away from the city noise here in Va. Beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwells196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We rented cabin #6 and it worked quite well for our family of 5: 2 adults and 3 teens. All room amenities were clean and in good shape. There was a cute little welcome basket for us when we arrived. The attached restaurant is very good and we ate there for breakfast and dinner a few times. The location is very convenient, even tho it is a bit out of town - still close to stores and Skyline Drive. And WiFi was installed the day before we arrived. A few things to note:
- there is no staff person on site after 8 PM, so if there is a noise issue, it is not clear how that would be handled. There is a number posted to call on the office door but I don't think it is posted in the rooms. And since there is no phone in the room and cell coverage is a bit spotty, this could be an issue. Luckily our neighbors finally quieted down at 10:30.
- the cabins are very close to the road but the brook in back helps to drown out noise
- one of beds is right under the window AC, which would be an issue if you needed to use it, I'd imagine. Also, it is like you are sleeping next to an open window, since the AC unit does nothing to block outside noise.
However, these are minor issues to note. We were very comfortable in this cabin.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0mweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2011

For our 28th wedding anniversary, we wanted a nice quiet place to relax. The Cabins at Brookside was just that place. Friendly attentive staff....clean, nicely decorated cabin ...relaxing hot tub in the room ...babbling brook just outside the back door. We had a wonderful dinner in Luray at a restaurant called the The Speakeasy. Breakfast at the Brookside Restaurant was very good. My husband and I enjoyed our stay very, very, very much!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abnerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We spent Mother's day weekend in the big cabin. Brought the mother in law and we were all ready to move in! what a wonderful stay we had. the sitting room was wonderful looking over the creek. It was still cool but we opened the windows just so we could hear the water go rushing by. It was not only clean but decorated quite nicely - very warm and cozy.
We are planning on staying again with friends in June 2011. Cant wait!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jn832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
4.6 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
935 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
4.5 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
130 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabins at Brookside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabins at Brookside

Property: The Cabins at Brookside
Address: 2978 US Highway 211 E, Luray, VA 22835-4767
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than eighty years, Brookside has been welcoming guests from around the world in Luray, Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, USA. Our vacation rental cabins are near the entrance to Shenandoah National Park. The rear of the cabins open to decks or sun rooms which overlook a scenic bubbling brook. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cabins At Brookside Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing