We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Haven in VA”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful Haven in VA”
Reviewed August 22, 2005

My partner and I recently went to Piney Hill B&B after it came highly recommended by a co-worker. We stayed in the cottage adjacent to the main house. It was wonderfully peaceful. We woke up in the mornings and had coffee and a delicious breakfast (the french toast is a MUST!) while watching the sun rise over the mountains. One evening we sat in the screened in porch- also on the cottage- and enjoyed the fresh air. Hank and Wiley were excellent hosts and really catered to our every need. While there is very little to do in the surrounding towns, if you are looking at a true getaway from the hussle of everyday life, this is the place to go!!! Rest and Relaxation come naturally at this fabulous B&B. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jstc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
646
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 2, 2005

We stayed for a weekend at Piney Hill and planned to see some of the sights. While we did get out and about, we found that we were just as happy sitting on the big wrap around porch in the rockers, taking in the peaceful view. The rooms are filled with antiques, the garden is lovely, and the food is terrific. Great hosts just complete the package. We plan to return and have already recommended Piney Hill to friends.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield, va
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2005

A great down home B&B. Wiley and Hank are great hosts who do it
right. From the decor to the food and conversation you feel right at
home. A great place to just kick back and take in the views. Also
a nice starting spot for touristy events. Will go back ASAP!

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank sewerrat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 28, 2005

This is truly our home away from home. We travel down to Luray and Piney Hill to visit w/our friends and hosts, Hank & Wiley. They are the epitome of southern hospitality. The rejuvinated farmhouse with its wrap-around porch and rocking chairs is a real gem in the outskirts of Luray nestled among the fields and farms, and close to shops, tourist attractions and super, inexpensive dining. Their breakfasts are well worth getting up for...always a surprise. We have come here for 4 years now, twice a year and will continue to return year after year. We have made many friends who also come back time and again. Hank & Wiley are our extended family now.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 20, 2005

My fiance' and I have fallen in love with Piney Hill. This was our second visit and we are still in awe of the beauty of Luray. Hank & Wiley are wonderful hosts and they made our stay just as wonderful as they did the first time we were there. We plan on going back this November to experience the valleys beauty in the winter time. The only thing we didn't like was having to come back to the city. Thank you Wiley & Hank.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 7, 2005

Not my first trip...........but my first trip shared with someone who will return often with me. Hank and Wiley provide the most wonderous setting and service for enjoying a restful time in the country. Their friendship to everyone is amazing and there is never a moment that you do not feel welcome and part of "the family" Thanks, Thanks, Thanks!
Sonny & Ken

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 6, 2005

My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary at Piney Hill. Hank and Wiley were excellent hosts. Everything was top notch. The food was excellent and was the best we have ever had. They were gracious enough to pack up the leftover blueberry muffins for our day trip to the surrounding area. They even handled receiving some special gifts that I ordered online and had them shipped directly to PHBB and had them nicely laid out in our room wth fresh flowers and some special treats. Wish we had not missed the "sticky buns" so I guess we will have to visit again soon with a special request in mind.

Stayed June 2003
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
5.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
983 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
46 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
132 reviews
7.6 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1048 Piney Hill Rd, Luray, VA 22835-6350
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luray VA Bed & Breakfast and Cottage Rentals in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Home of the Luray Caverns. We are nestled on a 2 acre hilltop in the country, minutes from Shenandoah National Park with spectacular views of the Skyline Drive. We offer 2 luxury cottages in a private setting as well as 3 standard guest rooms in the main house. A full country style breakfast is served each morning. This peaceful country haven is the perfect place for a get-away whether romantic, relaxing or adventurous. Enjoy area hiking, wineries, canoeing, horseback riding, fishing, antique shopping, skiing, exploring area caverns, fine dining restaurants and so much more. Make our home your home when visiting Luray, Virginia. Special packages and gift certificates available. 2 Night min. Stay required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piney Hill Bed And Breakfast
Piney Hill Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing