We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
“Amazing weekend getaway”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I took a trip to Piney Hill in January 2014 for an amazing weekend. The innkeepers, Wiley and Hank, were incredibly nice and accommodating. This was our first trip to the Shenandoah region and Wiley and Hank were so helpful in getting us around the region and setting us up with places to visit.

Beyond the amazing service, the B&B itself is cozy and charming. The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were very comfortable.

We had a very relaxing weekend at Piney Hill and would recommend it to anyone looking to get away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
640
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our second weekend stay at Piney Hill B&B. We discovered PIney Hill in 2010 and vowed to return! Our second trip was even better than our first. The Emma Ruffner Rogers room was still immaculate, beautifully decorated (as is the whole house) and cozy...just as I remembered it! Hank and Wiley are the perfect hosts who have truly thought of EVERYTHING! Umbrellas when it is raining, the perfect dinner recommendations for every occasion, gourmet breakfast, quiet outdoor spots for enjoying the beautiful 360 degree mountain views, vineyard recommendations, hiking recommendations...you name it, they've got it covered! Plan a get-away to Luray just to stay here...you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary and absolutely loved everything about Piney Hill. The warm welcome, the breakfast, view, and suggestions were perfect. We would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Book a cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinacris99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

What a great stay! Wiley and Hank were great hosts and educated us on everything we needed to know about the area. The breakfast was amazing-- come hungry! The rooms are beautifully decorated and very cozy. If you're feeling energetic, there are great hikes and activities around town, Luray Caverns among them. If you're feeling lazy (or if the weather isn't cooperating), Hank and Wiley have a huge DVD collection, and all rooms have satellite TV.

Overall, this is probably the best B&B we've every visited. Would make a great weekend away from DC or any other city in the region.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fso1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

It has hard to add much to the 600+ well-deserved 5-star reviews, but we will try. The views of the mountains on all sides are breath-taking. The historic cabin main-house is charming and very comfortable. When we pulled up we were welcomed by Prissy--the cat welcoming committee. So sweet. Wiley and Hank are two of the most gracious and thoughtful hosts we have had at a B&B. Their gourmet breakfasts were nothing short of 4-star restaurant-quality one would expect from the best-trained chefs in the world--from innovative pumpkin pancakes one day, a perfect spinach quiche the next, and decadent peach french toast, the last. Our room was very comfortable. Our hosts gave us great advice on hiking trips and on restaurants. In short, this B&B is everything a B&B should be...and more. Come here and become part of their extended family for life.

Room Tip: The room we chose had a dedicated bathroom, but it was across the hall. It was fine, but the next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamiSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and just returned from a romantic weekend in the Hurley Byrd cottage. Hank and Wiley were spectacular hosts, making us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. The cottage is wonderfully designed, and positioned for unobstructed mountain views in multiple directions, including an amazing sunset view. From making dinner reservations, scheduling a couples massage in our cottage, to delivering delicious snacks and breakfasts, to recommending local activities, Hank and Wiley handled every detail to make our weekend relaxing and memorable. We will definitely be back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Malaika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time with Wiley and Hank. Very knowledgable of the area and made excellent suggestions for things to do. Shared with us wonderful and fun stories about the house and the area. We felt at home and when we left we felt like we made good friends. The food is fantastic and the place is cozy and clean. Hank and Wiley were very thoughtful. They kept checking on us on the ride to their place and left my husband a card wishing him a great birthday. We will be back for sure. We miss them already!!

Room Tip: We stayed at Emma Rufner's room or as we like to call it the yellow room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyNizar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
5.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
961 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
39 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
7.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1048 Piney Hill Rd, Luray, VA 22835-6350
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luray VA Bed & Breakfast and Cottage Rentals in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Home of the Luray Caverns. We are nestled on a 2 acre hilltop in the country, minutes from Shenandoah National Park with spectacular views of the Skyline Drive. We offer 2 luxury cottages in a private setting as well as 3 standard guest rooms in the main house. A full country style breakfast is served each morning. This peaceful country haven is the perfect place for a get-away whether romantic, relaxing or adventurous. Enjoy area hiking, wineries, canoeing, horseback riding, fishing, antique shopping, skiing, exploring area caverns, fine dining restaurants and so much more. Make our home your home when visiting Luray, Virginia. Special packages and gift certificates available. 2 Night min. Stay required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piney Hill Bed And Breakfast
Piney Hill Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing