We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our 2-night stay at Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast was wonderful! The house was quiet and clean and the Mark Ruffner Suite was perfect for us and our adult daughter. The refrigerator stocked with soft drinks and waters was a nice surprise, as was the extensive library of DVDs.
Hank and Wiley were friendly and attentive. When we arrived, they provided a house tour, a local map, and helpful comments about local restaurants, wineries and other sights. Typical of their hospitality was the towels and snacks (chocolate chip banana bread – mmm) they gave us for our kayak trip. A highlight – the gourmet breakfasts and afternoon sweet treats – not to be missed! We enjoyed having breakfast with the other guests, too, to hear about their adventures.
Finally, the follow-up email was appreciated and it’s nice to be considered part of the Piney Hill family now. I hope our travels bring us your way again in the future. Sue and Lee

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank im50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
628
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is simply a great place! We stayed for 2 nights in the newly constructed (and well designed) Hurley Byrd cottage after looking for somewhere close to Skyline Drive, where we explored parts of the national park and a few of the hiking trails. Hank and Wiley are gracious, warm hosts, offering scrumptious breakfasts (delivered right on time in a picnic basket to our screened-in porch) and friendly advice about the area. The cottage offers quiet privacy and is absolutely spotless. You will want for nothing. The bed and sofa are new and comfy, the bathroom large and well-appointed, and the kitchenette an added bonus. We enjoyed the views of the mountains as well as the local cows who graze in the field beyond, and took advantage of a glass of wine in the hot tub to soothe achy hiking muscles. If we are ever in the area again, we'll surely be back. Thanks for a rejuvenating visit!

Room Tip: Hurley Byrd cottage offers privacy with all of the amenities one would ever need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khd8286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

What everybody is raving about is true. This place is awesome. Life was frustrating my wife and me. We just needed to get away and this was the place. We enjoyed sitting on the porch, relaxing in the hot tub and the great hospitality Hank and Wiley provided. We will definitely be back. Thanks, Rob & Amanda

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rlafountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary in the Luray Va area. Had seen great reviews on this Piney Hill BnB. I thought there was no way they were that good. We stayed in the Rosebud cottage. What a wonderful cottage with a screened in porch on the front and a deck on the back. The scenery was fantastic from the back deck. It was so quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was dropped off at the cottage each morning and we were able to have a nice quiet breakfast on the porch. We would come back from sightseeing and find a dessert waiting for us. This BnB deserves every great review they get. Hank and Wiley are great innkeepers and they know how to pamper there guests. The food was awesome. Thank you so much for a wonderful anniversary getaway.

Room Tip: One of the cottages are the way to go if you are looking for time alone with significant other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raiderPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I are so glad we chose Piney Hill for our trip to Luray Caverns. It was absolutely adorable. We stayed in the Mark Ruffner Room, it was cozy and delightfully blue. Hank and Wiley are wonderful hosts and their breakfasts are delicious (peach french toast and fresh watermelon! yum!). We enjoyed having breakfast with the other guests and talking about our planned activities with them and Hank and Wiley. Hank had some great suggestions about what to do and where to eat. They also have adorable cottages right off the house if you want more privacy. The place is surrounded by farms and has stunning views of mountains from the perfectly placed adirondack chairs and hammock (great for an afternoon nap). The only thing we regret was forgetting our swim suits for the Jacuzzi outback! Next time we'll bring our suits and a bottle of champagne to enjoy. If you're looking for a place to stay when you visit Luray or just a tranquil getaway in the country, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed two nights at Piney Hill B&B to celebrate my birthday. The house is charming and located in a beautiful spot just outside Luray. Innkeepers Hank and Wiley could not have been more friendly and helpful. They know they have a treasure and love to share it with their guests. Our room, Emma, was small, but there was plenty of room for our stuff. A very comfortable bed. Bathroom too was small, but again room for our stuff. Breakfast, which was quite delicious (I bought their cook book), was at a communal table, which we personally like very much, and the other guests were interesting. The B&B is well located for drives, hikes, boating and Hank & Wiley can make good recommendations, and reservations if necessary. We had an excellent light supper one evening at Gathering Grounds in Luray village. The other night we splurged and went to the Inn at Little Washington, which was quite wonderful. We highly recommend this Piney Hill treasure, and plan to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahg97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a wonderful stay at the most fabulous B&B! Hank and Wiley, the innkeepers, are so very friendly and welcoming. What a beautiful, loving home they have created for all of us to share. The views and peaceful surroundings are just lovely. And the food is awesome!! they take such great care of their "new friends" who enter their home daily. The two of them have a knack for cleanliness, quality and service. We will always stay at Piney Hill when we are in Luray! Can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mark Ruffner Suite (our daughter was with us, hence two rooms). Both rooms were lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
5.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
7.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
4.8 mi away
South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1048 Piney Hill Rd, Luray, VA 22835-6350
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luray VA Bed & Breakfast and Cottage Rentals in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Home of the Luray Caverns. We are nestled on a 2 acre hilltop in the country, minutes from Shenandoah National Park with spectacular views of the Skyline Drive. We offer 2 luxury cottages in a private setting as well as 3 standard guest rooms in the main house. A full country style breakfast is served each morning. This peaceful country haven is the perfect place for a get-away whether romantic, relaxing or adventurous. Enjoy area hiking, wineries, canoeing, horseback riding, fishing, antique shopping, skiing, exploring area caverns, fine dining restaurants and so much more. Make our home your home when visiting Luray, Virginia. Special packages and gift certificates available. 2 Night min. Stay required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piney Hill Hotel Luray
Piney Hill Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing