We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I took a trip to Luray, VA and in planning, he tasked me with finding a place to stay that was close to nature, affordable, and impeccably run. Well, we found it all at Piney Hill B&B. Hank and Wiley are wonderful hosts who made our stay there wonderful. As you can imagine, we didn't want to leave when the time came. We stayed in the Walter Rogers room, which was tastefully decorated, very clean, extremely comfortable and private. Their breakfasts are delicious--words won't even begin to do them justice. Every day I wanted seconds! The B&B is away from the hustle and bustle in town, so it makes for a truly relaxing stay. The air even smells fresher out there! There are great views from the house of the Massanutten Mountains AND the Shenandoah Mountains so you can get unobstructed views of the sunrise and sunset. If you're going to be visiting Luray, VA or anywhere nearby, I highly recommend Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast. We'll most definitely be returning...again and again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haadlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
620
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned from a great stay at Piney Hill Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the Rosebud Cottage which was lovely. We were greeted by charming hosts and chocolate cake. Tired from a hike, we enjoyed the outdoor hot tub. In addtion to the great soak, we were able to enjoy beautiful mountain views. We also took some time to sit on the back porch of the cottage and enjoy more mountain views. We saw beautiful stars in the sky after dark. The cottage is beautifully decorated and has a very comfortable bed. In the morning,one of the hosts brought us a lovely picnic basket containing a fabulous breakfast..... a wonderful egg dish with sausage and cheese, fruit, juice, poached pears and warm, fantastic sticky buns. I might add that I travel frequently and have not yet written a review for trip advisor. Hank, Wiley and Piney Hill are outstanding and deserve a great review. We will be back to Piney Hill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had never stayed at a B&B prior to this trip. All our worries and concerns were soon put to rest by both Hank and Wiley.Although we were familiar with the valley, they had a lot of knowledge about different restaurants and the type of food served as well as other area venues which helped us plan our daily agenda. Our agenda included visiting different local attractions but also just enjoying the setting we were staying at. The porch has chairs and rockers to curl up in in every nook and cranny. The view is breathtaking and the gentle stillness calming. There is a hot tub to enjoy as well. Hank and Wiley have a way of anticipating any needs or questions you might have while allowing for guests to enjoy alone time. The breakfast was delicious and cheerful conversation followed suit.It truly was a home away from home (only we didn't have to do any of the work!).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

I can't say enough kind words about Wiley and Hank. Prior to our arrival I called to check with Wiley and Hank on recommendations on where a beautiful area would be to propose. They recommended a beautiful hike through Shenendoah which was perfect. I purchased the Sweetheart package which was a perfect touch to our trip. Everything was immaculate when we got there, beautiful roses and delicious chocolate covered strawberries. The Emma Ruffner was nice and had lots of country charm like the rest of house. The food in the morning was amazing every morning. Wiley and Hank are full of phenomenal recommendations to do in and around Luray as well. I would highly recommend Piney Hill to anyone that needs to escape!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hank and Wiley are great folks who make you feel at home. As newlyweds we wanted somewhere that was near the action of Shenandoah but also a place to recharge the batteries after an awesome wedding weekend. Hank and Wiley have created a great property and a nice atmosphere. They are also fixing up another private cottage on the property and it's always nice to see a business expanding.

Things we liked: Great breakfasts (peach french toast, sticky buns, egg casserole and fruit), the hammock and yard chairs, the dvd collection, Hank and Wiley's hiking recommendations.

Make sure to stop by the Gathering Grounds and Artisans. Some of the other restaurants weren't open on Monday and Tuesday. Luray caverns are nice and cool. We could spend months at Shenandoah National Park. Piney Hill is a great jump-off spot for the action.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I escaped DC for a romantic weekend getaway and Piney Hill B&B was the perfect oasis we needed. Wiley and Hank were warm and gracious hosts. The food was incredible and we’re so glad they have a cookbook so we could take the interesting recipes home with us. Wiley and Hank also know everyone in town so they were able to help us plan and reserve our activities such as horseback riding and a boat cruise. We also loved the hot tub out on the patio under the stars, the afternoon snacks, and the movie collection. Thank you for such a relaxing weekend – we can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I'm not in the habit of insulting people I don't know, but I have to be honest: if you're looking for a place to stay in or near Luray and you don't stay here, you're a damn fool! Piney Hill is located in the country. Not "country" as in a few miles off the main city strip...I mean "country" as in, you can sit on the porch and watch cows and their calves amble out to pasture in the lazy, golden light of morning..."country" as in, you can sit beneath the shade of a willow tree and watch the sun melt into the western sky without hearing an airplane fly overhead...I mean "country" as in being surrounded not by strip malls and Target and obnoxious people with their faces buried in their technological gadgets but by the Massanutten Mountains to your west, the Shenandoahs to your east, and nothing but valley north and south.

As if its pastoral location doesn't make Piney Hill spectacular enough, the inn boasts a history spanning back nearly 200 years. Its original structure as well as its newer parts have been lovingly restored, painted and furnished by Hank and Wiley, the inn's hosts who do it all here. Want an outrageously delicious breakfast that will make you see god? They're the ones who will make it for you from the freshest ingredients. Those scrumptious homemade raspberry brownies left in your room while you were out hiking all afternoon in the Shenandoahs? Hank and Wiley baked them. Your room made fresh each day? Your pillows fluffed? The printed door-to-door directions you need to a winery? horse stables? a coffee shop? a restaurant? a mountain trail? They do it all.

One of Piney Hill's many positives is that it is operated by owners who have a fabulous knack for details and a genuine zeal for interacting with their guests in order to ensure that their time in Luray is everything it can be. Hank and Wiley are attentive without being overbearing, and their friendliness and charm is never forced. One day, Hank told me that when they purchased Piney Hill years ago, he and Wiley had never even stayed at a B&B before, and that they "just do things around here the way we think it should be done at a B&B". The result is a warmth and hospitality that makes one feel as if they are overnighting at the home of old friends. During our 3 nights at their inn, we encountered several guests who have become regulars at Piney Hill over the course of its years. We will absolutely be joining their ranks. Highly, higly recommended.

Room Tip: The Mark Ruffner room has a roomy sitting area for two, plenty of windows letting in the bright sunl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
5.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
7.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1048 Piney Hill Rd, Luray, VA 22835-6350
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luray VA Bed & Breakfast and Cottage Rentals in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Home of the Luray Caverns. We are nestled on a 2 acre hilltop in the country, minutes from Shenandoah National Park with spectacular views of the Skyline Drive. We offer 2 luxury cottages in a private setting as well as 3 standard guest rooms in the main house. A full country style breakfast is served each morning. This peaceful country haven is the perfect place for a get-away whether romantic, relaxing or adventurous. Enjoy area hiking, wineries, canoeing, horseback riding, fishing, antique shopping, skiing, exploring area caverns, fine dining restaurants and so much more. Make our home your home when visiting Luray, Virginia. Special packages and gift certificates available. 2 Night min. Stay required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piney Hill Hotel Luray
Piney Hill Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing