We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Anniversary to remember!”
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
winchester
1 review
“An Anniversary to remember!”
Reviewed June 8, 2010

My wife and I were absolutely stunned by the beauty and serenity of the Mimslyn Inn. From check-in, to dinner at Speakeasy's, and a late night dessert from room service, the freindly and attentive staff were first-rate; one got the feeling that they truly enjoyed their jobs.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redneck1Winchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    268
    80
    33
    17
See reviews for
190
584
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

My girlfriend and I wanted to go away for Memorial Day Weekend. We decided to go to Luray, VA to go see the caverns, go kayaking, and go hiking in the Shenandoah National Park. This was the perfect place for us...it was only an hour and a half from Northern Virginia. The Mimslyn Inn was an ideal place for us to stay. It was right around the corner from Luray Caverns, the river, and the National Park.

We got to spend each day enjoying the beautiful surroundings of Luray, VA and then got to head back to a beautiful inn. Each night we enjoyed delicious dinners at the restaurant inside of the Mimslyn Inn. The first night we even got to enjoy a special lobster dinner with fresh lobster from Maine! Each morning, we also enjoyed the breakfast that was served in the restaurant.

The room was also remarkable. Our room had a VERY comfortable king size bed, so we got plenty of rest after spending each day outside. The rooms were also very clean. We also loved the hotel pool, which gave us a chance to cool off from the warm weather.

The staff at the hotel were great. They greeted us when we arrived and were very helpful throughout the weekend - they provided us with anything we needed.

I would strongy recommend anyone looking for a nice weekend trip to consider staying at the Mimslyn Inn in Luray, VA. We are definitely planning another trip there later in the summer!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed for a brief one night stopover so we could visit the Luray Caverns the following day so the location was perfect for this. I booked the room on hotels.com and had a pretty good rate and we ate dinner in the buzzy basement bar as we arrived quite late at about 9pm. There was a singer/guitarist playing (who was excellent) which added to the informal atmosphere and was quite a contrast to the main dining area - so a real plus if you don't fancy getting dressed up. Food and drink were great and the staff very friendly and polite. Definitely recommend staying here and you should shop around on discount websites for room rates as they vary quite significantly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2010

wonderful experience staff very nice would like to have our wedding here in the future

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Great hotel. My parents stayed there for their honeymoon and we wanted to check it out. It seemed to be, by far, the nicest hotel in Luray. There's a trail by a stream within walking distance--fun for the kids. There's a nice heated pool for the kids as well. Beautiful setting for a wedding or other family event. Rooms were a bit small, but very nice.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank amyswann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2010

The Mimslyn Inn is one of the highest quality hotels I've ever been to. The rooms are wonderful-clean, quiet, and the interior is beautiful. The food is delicious and the spa and gym are freat. In the morning it is wonderful to wake up to a marvelous view of Luray. To help you get up in the morning there is hot breakfast, fresh-squeezed orange juice, and delicious coffee and tea. The only negative factor of this hotel is it's pool. It's pool is small and very shallow. It didn't even have enough room to fit our whole group! Other than that, the Mimslyn is great!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Advisor005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

This brunch is not to be missed! The price is unbelieveable and the food is fresh and delicious. We were so pleased to have stumbled upon the Mimslyn on our way to Luray Caverns. We did not sleep at the hotel, yet were welcomed with open arms in the restaurant. (even though I was wearing jeans and sneakers. I apologized for my wardrobe but they told me not to worry about it and enjoy my meal.)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fern56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#2 of 9 in Luray
46 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Property: The Mimslyn Inn
Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing