We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern hotel with Old World Elegance”
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A modern hotel with Old World Elegance”
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Overall, we had an excellent experience at the Mimslyn Inn. The room, we stayed in a Blue Ridge Room on the 3rd floor, reminded me of hotels where I've stayed in some of the larger cities of Europe. I especially enjoyed the "no fuss" remote controlled fireplace, and the jetted tub. The bed was extremely comfortable. I only rated the service a 4 because there was a minor incident where I called room service with only about 5 minutes to spare before they closed. I asked if they would still be able to send hot chocolate to the room and they assured me they would. An hour and several phone calls to room service later, I had to give up on the hot chocolate. Also, I thought the price was rather high, $235/night, for being off season, but they did give a slight discount because I was there to attend a wedding at the hotel. I would stay there again, and would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a romantic, elegant hotel experience in the Blue Ridge Mountains.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank testaburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    265
    80
    32
    17
See reviews for
182
573
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

The inn looks like a southern plantation sitting on a hill. It is beautifully restored inside and out. The front desk persons were friendly and helpful. We entered one of the beautiful suites and were greeted by freezing cold air; it definitely distracted us from our lovely surroundings. Since we had a reservation, it would have been so much nicer if the heat had been turned on before our arrival. The gas fireplace did not work but it was quickly fixed. While waiting for the room to warm up we checked out the only hotel restaurant that was open, Speakeasy. It is a sports bar type restaurant with three TVs. We did decide to eat there and the food and service were excellent. Our room had a very comfortable king bed with very nice linens. The bathroom was large with two sinks, a jet tub, magnifying mirror and best of all a ceiling heater to warm you when you stepped out of the shower. The night light did not work. The large bath towels were wonderfully soft. Robes were provided. If you are a light sleeper, the noise from the wall heater/air conditioner may bother you.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2009

I am a regular business traveler and the Mimslyn has quickly become my favorite place to stay anywhere. It's without a doubt the best place to stay within 30-miles of Luray. Comfortable, quiet, great porch, service; must try the Speakeasy and both the breakfast & lunch buffets in Circa '31.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOGoNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2009

I traveled to Luray for business. I enjoyed my stay immensely. It was a refreshing change from chain hotels. Dinner at the Speakeasy was delicious. Every staff memeber that I spoke with was friendly. I look forward to staying at the Mimslyn Inn each and every time I come to Luray.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salesgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We stayed here only one night as a stopover on a longer trip. The off-season rate made this an unbeatable choice for our trip. We were able to get a 2 room suite so that we could put our 8 month old to bed and enjoy dinner in our living space. The hotel is beautiful and has a great historic feel to it. We enjoyed a great multi-course dinner from the Speakeasy restaurant in the hotel. Circa 31 was not open for dinner on the night we were there. The Speakeasy had a wonderful off-season special as well, and we ate more than our fill for a VERY reasonable price. Breakfast in Circa 31 was good and reasonably priced. Someone who pays a full price for the same room we stayed in might notice the lack of attention to maintenance details. However, we were VERY pleased with our stay and the accomodations as they are.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC area
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2009

If you want to just forget it all for a weekend, try the Mimslyn Inn. By the time you have traveled the back roads to get there, you have already begun to relax. The Mimslyn is a newly renovated quaint Virginia grand inn. It begins with a grand porch to welcome you and, as soon as you enter, the staff is helpful and pleasant. The rooms are lovely and the bed is great, not always the fact at such inns. The restaurant and bar downstairs are both wonderful, each catering to those different needs. Sunday brunch had live piano player to add ambiance. While we did not try the spa, it looks like we will next time there. There is something to do in the area, if you wish, or not if you came to just hole up. Certainly the Mimslyn is a great place to sit before the fire and enjoy the Sunday paper. We will return!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandLBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2009

One night stay with wife on a business trip. Staff was extremely friendly and professional. Dinner at Circa 31 restaurant in the hotel was excellent and reasonably priced as well as fabulous breakfast in the dining room. Room was clean and very well appointed however I selected a small room with a Queen bed that was a little tight, suggest a visitor spend a little more and select a larger room if staying for more than one night. Luray Caverns is just around the corner from the hotel and well worth the visit. Overall this hotel exceeded my expectations and I recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
40 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#5 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Property: The Mimslyn Inn
Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing