We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Get-Away Weekend”
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC area
1 review
“A Great Get-Away Weekend”
Reviewed December 17, 2009

If you want to just forget it all for a weekend, try the Mimslyn Inn. By the time you have traveled the back roads to get there, you have already begun to relax. The Mimslyn is a newly renovated quaint Virginia grand inn. It begins with a grand porch to welcome you and, as soon as you enter, the staff is helpful and pleasant. The rooms are lovely and the bed is great, not always the fact at such inns. The restaurant and bar downstairs are both wonderful, each catering to those different needs. Sunday brunch had live piano player to add ambiance. While we did not try the spa, it looks like we will next time there. There is something to do in the area, if you wish, or not if you came to just hole up. Certainly the Mimslyn is a great place to sit before the fire and enjoy the Sunday paper. We will return!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandLBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    265
    80
    32
    17
See reviews for
182
573
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NC
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2009

One night stay with wife on a business trip. Staff was extremely friendly and professional. Dinner at Circa 31 restaurant in the hotel was excellent and reasonably priced as well as fabulous breakfast in the dining room. Room was clean and very well appointed however I selected a small room with a Queen bed that was a little tight, suggest a visitor spend a little more and select a larger room if staying for more than one night. Luray Caverns is just around the corner from the hotel and well worth the visit. Overall this hotel exceeded my expectations and I recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

This is a very pretty place with a lovely lobby and a nice restaurant. Beware that if you are a vegetarian, you will have a problem here. Very little choice. Even the pasta is made in chicken broth but the chef offered to make pasta primevera without using the broth.
Our room was very pretty, albeit small. We had a corner room so it was nice to have alot of light from the windows. My husband had a spa treatment - it was not inexpensive by any means and not really worth it.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hotdog18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed here one night before Thanksgiving. From the moment we arrived, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the inside and outside of the hotel was beautiful. We ate at the Speakeasy which was okay, but the breakfast at Circa '31 the next morning was wonderful. We got a package deal, which we thought was a great value. The whole time we were there, it was very quiet and relaxing. Our room was large and the upgrades were very nice while still maintaining an historical appearance. We can't wait to go back. We started planning out return trip before we ever left!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xrayradtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2009

What a pleaseure it was to visit this hotel post-renovation. My expectations were exceeded beyond belief. You will not be disappointed with anything about your stay. I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Printer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Inn for two days, one of which was Thanksgiving. We were quite pleased by the appearance and decor of the hotel. The cuisine at the main dining room (Circa 31) as well as in the more casual l Speakeasy Pub was very good and reasonably price. The service was fine in the Circa 31 and a little less so in the Speakeasy.

We enjoyed our suite. The bath was quite large and nicely appointed although the jets in the tub were not working. The bedroom and lounge area were attractive and nicely furnished though on the small side. The mattress and bedding were most comfortable. We found the noise level to be most conductive for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimsims, General Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2009
Greetings,

Thank you ever so much for your nice comments about your recent visit with us.
Thanksgiving is a great time to visit The Mimslyn and all the area has to offer.
I immediatly inspectect the suite and found the instruction card missing from the vanity.
The switch for the spa jets look as if its a part of the tub. The card explains how to turn the power on and off. The missing card has been replaced . I am so sorry for the inconvience. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Pleae contact me personally for your resverations for a future vist . I will make sure everything is perfect.

Thank You,

Jim Sims
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2009

It has been my pleasure to find a beautifully restored old inn in Luray, Virginia. Since I travel from New York to Virginia once every two months to visit my mother in a local nursing facility, I find it most comfortable after a long trip to spend two nights at the Mimslyn. I especially appreciate the lovely lobby with a welcoming fire in its central fireplace. Other great features are dining facilities, fresh baked pastries, juice and coffee for early risers, and the beautiful rooms. The staff has always treated me like a favored quest. I look forward to returning again and again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzleNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
40 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#5 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Property: The Mimslyn Inn
Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing