We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxation Spot”
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
RIchmond, VA
2 reviews
“Great Relaxation Spot”
Reviewed April 3, 2009

We spent 3 nights there. We mainly spent the whole time there relaxing. Circa 31 Restaurant in the Inn served great breakfast. They also had a a nice place for dinner with an Acoustic band playing. Our whole purpose was to just chill and it was a great place to do that.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMMRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    268
    80
    33
    17
See reviews for
190
584
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2009

A beautiful change from the cookie cutter chain hotels. The Mimslyn Inn takes you back in History while meeting your present everyday needs. The Inn is an architectural master piece and offers the amenities found in 5 star Hotels at a very respectable nightly rate. My family, including our dog, has been a return guest at the Mimslyn Inn and the staff made us feel like we were at home from the moment we walked into the grand lobby to check in and throughout our enitre stay. The Mimslyn Inn is comfortable living history in the present day.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRVontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2009

The hotel's Solarium was a very pleasant venue for our meeting.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teetaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2009

The Mimslyn Inn is a recently-restored historic hotel, bursting with charm, lovely touches, and a quietly friendly and attentive staff. The hotel is spotless and the atmosphere is low-key. The main restaurant, Circa 31, may be the best feature and is worth the trip alone. The Mimslyn sits on the edge of a quaint small town in the Shenandoah Valley, near Luray Caverns. This was our second visit.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpw20170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, VA
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We recently spent a night at the Mimslyn Inn as a surprise weekend getaway that I planned for my husband's birthday. We had never been to Luray before and didn't know what to expect. The town has a little bit of charm but is otherwise very sleepy. While it was too rainy and foggy to enjoy the nearby Skyline Drive as we had planned, we did have a great time at the Caverns.

The staff and service at the Inn was superb. They really went out of their way to be friendly and of service. I had reserved a suite because the description of the smaller rooms led me to believe that they were VERY small and the suite was very comfortable. The bathroom was large and spacious, the fireplace (although not a real wood-burning fireplace) was cute and the bed was very comfortable. Our room, however, was on the first floor about 20 feet from the lobby, which we found a little odd.

We ate dinner at the Speakeasy because there was a Civil War re-enactment event going on the main dining room. I had previously made dinner reservations for us in the dining room (Circa 1930) but when we saw all the activity, we decided to eat at the Speakeasy instead - and we were pleased with that decision. The front desk staff had no problem cancelling our reservation. The bartender was a gem, as was the rest of the staff there. The food was OK, really nothing to write home about, but it was still a very enjoyable evening. We never ate at Circa but judging by the food at the Speakeasy, we're not sure it would be worth the money?? Hopefully it is.

We'd visit the Mimslyn Inn again if we found ourselves needing to stay in the area. There was not a whole lot to do in the town of Luray but perhaps in the fall we'd come back to try the Skyline Drive and some hiking. The Mimslyn seemed to be BY FAR the nicest place in town. It was enjoyable to meet some of the locals around town though - they all seemed to LOVE where they lived, which is not something we're used to hearing as we live in northern VA. One local man even described living in Luray as "heaven on earth." I don't know if I'd go that far but it was enjoyable nonetheless.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristen4528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2009

Booked this hotel after a horrible experience at the Best Western across the street. So glad we ended up at the Mimslyn - it is just beautiful. The staff members were all so friendly and helpful. The food in the Speakeasy was very good. The beds were incredibly comfortable. We had a massive room with two queen beds, big couch, etc. It was all just beautiful.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chicagoml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Jackson
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2009

My fiance and I are locals and have been to dine in at this Hotel a few times. The food is to die for and the Kitchen Chef "Chris" delivers perfect dishes with art. After dining a few times my fiance and I decided to make the big jump and investing into the hotel by having our wedding there. The rooms are soothing and very elegent. The hotel its self is quite and respectful and stff so willing to help. Jim Sims the General Manager there is incredible with his hospatality and caring to us and other guest as we have observed. We ended up booking our wedding there and was so impressed with the services that Jim (GM) provided and Betty (Director of sales and Catering) that we would recommend this Historical Hotel to every soon to be, Bride and Groom that we may encounter. Overall, this place is the place to have a home away from home.

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank datluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#2 of 9 in Luray
46 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Property: The Mimslyn Inn
Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing