We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, relaxing weekend in beautiful countryside”
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice, relaxing weekend in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed October 22, 2008

A very nice hotel, terrific service all around. We were not entirely crazy about the restaurants, but they are obviously trying hard. We booked a package which included breakfast (actually credit towards breakfast in the dining room, or the breakfast buffet) and $75 credit towards dinner in either restaurant. The "fancy" restaurant, Circa 31, was nice enough as was the more casual place downstairs, called the Speakeasy. However, both menus seemed extremely limited. In all fairness, the food at the buffet was above average, fresh and kept replenished. Standard breakfast offerings included eggs, pancakes, bacon and sausage, plus biscuits with sausage gravy. There was a good variety of cold items including cereal and milk, fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, muffins, etc. Our dinner in the Speakeasy was very good but our server seemed rushed off her feet. The place is small and it was totally full, seemed to have only 2 servers. Overall a very nice place, clean and quiet.

  • Liked — Country Inn, historic old-fashioned building
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nana3lov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    266
    80
    32
    17
See reviews for
187
578
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Garcia12345
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2008

Went to Luray to attend a wedding and was fortunate enough to stay in the Mimslyn. The property went through a recent renovation and they did a fantastic job in restoring the hotel to its original granduer. In addition to the property being wonderful, the staff could not make a guest feel more welcome to the Inn. I would say that when visiting Luray you have one option in lodging - The Mimslyn Inn.

  • Liked — Comfortable and relaxing stay
  • Disliked — Nothing was disappointing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garcia12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The staff were great and the rooms are lovely. The food and service in the Circa 31 restaurant in particular was really excellent. It was nice that they had a special focus on Virginia wine. I made arrangements for a special cake with which to surprise my husband and they managed it beautifully.

A couple of things which could be improved:
- equal rights for tea drinkers! The in-room coffee maker was too inundated with coffee to use to make tea and there was no tea available at the self-service continental breakfast.
- I'm okay with faux fireplaces when they are gas, but the one in our suite was electric, with the flickering of fake fire. One could just have the special effects or one could add some forced air heat. Frankly, I'd rather do without the fireplace altogether and added extra closet space than to have had this.
- continued staff training, particularly for junior staff. The caliber of senior staff and management was very high; it just needs to trickle down a bit.

These points are minor in comparison with how much we enjoyed our entire stay. I enjoyed the spa as well with massage and reflexology.

Clearly the renovation has been a big success and the management are keen to continue to improve in every way. I offered a couple of comments to them as we were preparing to check out and they were already discussing them with senior management before we departed!

The Mimslyn Inn is a wonderful destination for relaxation and celebration. I know we'll be back!

  • Liked — Beautiful, large, and comfortable suite with attentive service
  • Disliked — Couldn't get a decent cup of early morning tea
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fauxmeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

My husband and I booked a night during a weekend with his parents. The hotel has, as everyone said, been totally renovated. Everything was modern and new, but still retained charm. The rooms are very small, but have larger bathrooms.

The few kinks:
- My in-laws had sugar ants in their bathroom.
- The service: While everyone was polite, the service was not "good." We had to wait for our rooms to be ready. We ate at the pub downstairs. We had a long wait for the drinks and appetizer at the bar, so decided to get a table. Service there was extremely slow as well. The guys ate their meal, but my mother-in-law and I had the panini, which was inedible (we're not that picky). The waitress agreed, and took them off the bill.

In short: the hotel was quite nice, but they still have a long way to go with improving service. Although they were hospitable, they need to deliver on service.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRF07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2008

My husband and I practically "stumbled" into this wonderful small hotel while traveling to Blacksburg, without a reservation. While it was more expensive than we usually pay, it was worth it. The hotel was beautifully renovated and our room, while small, was comfortable and well appointed. The staff was friendly, helpful, charming. We enjoyed a delicious dinner in the Circa 1931 dinning room and were able to use the gym facilities and pool in the morning.

We enjoyed our one night stay so much that we decided to return the following weekend, on our trip back home. This time, we relaxed for two days, again enjoying the tasty food as well as the surroundings.

We visited Luray Caverns and the New Market Battlefield, an interesting addition to the Civil War sights. The towns of Luray and New Market had plenty of antique shops and a few tasty local restaurants. This is a very nice place for a weekend retreat.

We will gladly return if our travels take us in the area.

  • Liked — great bed
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caseysmomnewjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed a the Mimslyn Inn for a quiet weekend, and we had a very nice time. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms and found it to be clean and neat. I ate at the breakfast buffet on Saturday morning; what a bargain at 10 dollars! We also ate dinner at Circa 31 which was delicious. The brunch on Sunday was also nice. I have to say the highlight of the weekend was the massage with Bonnie. What a relaxing experience! I have been to many more expensive spas in the DC/Maryland area; but Bonnie takes the cake!
Additionally, I really found all of the staff to be extremely helpful. They went out of their way and even helped us with extraordinary requests. I was especially impressed with the fact that even the younger staff were polite and professional. How often does that happen?

  • Liked — The massage with Bonnie
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MarylandAbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We arrived in Luray with 3 teenagers only to find our cabin accommodation double booked. We needed a hotel in hurry having spent all day in the car driving the beautiful skyline highway. Thank God for the Mimslyn. We were so happy they had a room. It wasn't cheap but this isn't a cheap place. Everything about this newly renovated hotel is top quality. There is friendly courteous service throughout and everything is top class - even the TV! We slept soundly in spotlessly clean rooms and dined each evening in the speakeasy downstairs. The waitresses and barman could give lessons to the catering industry they were so good. The food was excellent and we partcularly liked the meatloaf dish. There are reduced price passes to the caves and to the carraige museum at the front desk so take advantage of these if you go. There is a small buffet breakfast available but we decided to go to town to feed our 3 teenagers (muffins and coffee is simply not enough). Check out Uncle Buck's on main street. Fabulous cooking. Great service. Packed with locals. WOW. A real American experience. Big big portions. Great value. We look back on these two great days and two great nights with excellent memories of what small town America has to offer. Well done to the Mimslyn and to Luray

  • Liked — Top class in every way.
  • Disliked — Not a thing.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jd999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
41 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Property: The Mimslyn Inn
Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing