We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming”
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Nearing arrival through the town of Luray we wondered if the Mimslyn Inn could possibly look as grand as the photos we had seen. Before us upon a hill stood the grand looking beautiful building with the winding driveway entrance. It was beautifully landscaped but I was sad to see that although there was a wedding in progress the potted flowers on the front porch were either dead or dying from neglect. The rest of the Inn was beautiful and the staff very friendly. We stayed in a historic room on the 2nd floor. We enjoyed a delicious buffet breakfast on the porch with an included mimosa. I must admit that had we known it was a buffet style breakfast and the distance we would need to carry our plates and the flies we would be swatting away, we would have eaten indoors. Aside from the dead and dying potted plants, the cobwebs in the windows I felt should have been something tended to more frequently. We would stay at the Mimslyn Inn again if we are in the area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 5tars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    265
    79
    32
    16
See reviews for
179
570
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
314 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent one night here, and that was enough. While the place looks nice from the outside, and the lobby, when we got to our room we found it so loaded with furnishings we could barely move around! A King bed (in a room too small for a King bed), an oversized cabinet (for the TV etc.), a chair with ottoman, a desk (that nobody could possibly work at because you have mere inches between the desk and the bed), and a very small bathroom. Just way, way too crowded to enjoy the room. Once we brought in our two average sized suitcases, we were feeling far too cramped to relax in there. They need to eliminate some of the stuff so one can actually USE the room! Yes, it is historical, but so is a graveyard and you would not sleep there. The grounds were nice and well kept up. A fairly new pool and hot tub were in the back of the place and we found them nice. But at the end of the day, when you are ready to rest and relax, you don't want to feel like you just got stuffed in an old fashioned phone booth. Once was enough for us.

Room Tip: Sleep outside. You will have room to move that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

enjoyed the historical element of the Inn...the staff was always ready to please and went overoard with their interest in making your stay a memorable one! The frounds were beautifully tended, the pool and spa refreshing. The two restaurants were absolutely elegnat and historical in design...We stayed two nihts adn could have stayed longer if nto for our compact itinerary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violalady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

12 of us met at The Mimslyn Inn for my Mother's 89th Birthday. 6 of us from Northern VA, and 6 of us from Staunton. Luray is a nice mid-point. Met there at 10:30 last Sunday for the Champagne Brunch. The entire experience was delightful. The staff was/were very gracious. The views were wonderful, and the food was excellent. A chef made delicious omelettes, and sliced roast beef. Belgian waffles. crispy bacon, and the bread pudding, OMG! At only $15 per adult (lower child rate,and toddlers free) it is a great deal!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikemaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Contrary to previous reviews read, we chose to gaze out our window to the mountain vistas which had to have been best in Luray. We've stayed in plenty of grand ole places and this place met all expectations. Nicely appointed room, comfy bed, wonderful spots to sit inside and out in the main entrance atea and enjoy the feel that it was our place.

Downsides: personnel were sparse, we weren't told upon checking in on Monday that the main dining room was closed, staff were not readily available to handle our drink refills, only one person working front desk and the grandness they were attempting to convey was lost in country music in the speakeasy bar downstairs.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Losthorizonlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pros
1. The hotel staff was friendly, genuine, and polite.
2. The hammocks are lovely

Cons:
1. The rooms could have been a lot cleaner - there were stray hairs in the bathroom when we arrived.
2. The bed was smaller than a queen (either a double or full - not ideal for a romantic weekend).
3. The "gym" is really just for looks. There is 1 treadmill, 1 elliptical, weights--all of which are antiquated and not even functional by a lower-end gym's standards. Only one button worked on the treadmill, the belt hadn't been waxed or maintained in the last decade, and the metrics were incorrect.
4. The pool is tiny - it looks bigger in the pictures on their web page.
5. The hotel is definitely family friendly, which may not always make for a romantic getaway - there were a ton of kids.
6. It took 30 minutes to check-out. The receptionist couldn't figure out how to charge us for a night's stay and there were $40 worth of turn-down services we didn't request or receive that she couldn't figure out how to remove. She never could solve it so she asked us to go get a cup of coffee and charged the wrong amount and said she would issue a refund so it would work out to the right amount.
7. If you want to use the "spa" you have to make a reservation 48 hours in advance - they don't actually staff people there. Also there is a sign in the "gym" (which is adjacent to the "spa") which says please keep volume on tv down if someone is in the spa. I didn't get a massage, but I can only imagine that it would be less than distracting to be right next to a treadmill while getting a massage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VAtraveler334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very Nice. Room was very clean and confortable. Hotle had the feeling you wer back in time with an easy feeling of grace and comfort. The front porch was delightful in the evening. The down stairs bar had a band that was relaxing and fun. Will have to go back again real soon.

Room Tip: Try an get a room that faces the garden in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#2 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Property: The Mimslyn Inn
Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing