We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Staff, Charming Hotel”
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Warm Staff, Charming Hotel”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The very first sighting of the Mimslyn Inn was simply awesome. We had just finished a ride through the George Washington National Forest, and there we are, at the end of the winding roads, back to civilization, staring at this elegant edifice on top of a green hill, peacefully overlooking the small town below.

Being mid-September, I was wearing T-shirts and shorts, and I did feel a bit under dressed when I strode into the lobby. but the Welcome greeting was very warm and comfortable. The lady at the reception was genuinely interested in us having a good time. Overall staff population seemed young, with the exception of the restaurant usher. Though everyone is well mannered.

The restaurant offered lunch buffet which had a decent variety and, rather inconsistent taste. The chicken was excellent in general, but while one set of Brussels sprouts was delicious (almost the best I have had), another set was salty beyond reasoning.

Hotel surroundings:
20 minutes to Shenandoah National Park's Skyline Drive (Thorton Gap Entrance)
10 minutes to Luray Caverns

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beifangde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We truly love your description of your first sighting of The Mimslyn! This is the reaction that many of our guests have the first time that they see the inn - it really is awe-inspiring. We are so happy to hear that you received such a warm welcome upon your arrival. Our staff loves welcoming our guests as if they were a guest in their own home.

Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your experience at the lunch buffet. We have shared your comments regarding the inconsistency of the brussels sprouts with our chef so he can address this with his team.

Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    265
    80
    32
    17
See reviews for
187
577
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
PITMAN
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great time at the Mimslyn Inn....two day trip from NJ to see the Luray Caverns...a real WoW... hotel offers a discount now through the off season Sunday thru Thursday ..great rates with wine.and continental breakfast...nice people gregarious bellman PAUL.....ate at the Speakeasy (in hotel) real good and Artisan Grille in town also a splendid experience... Drove the Skyland Drive route again a magnificent journey and ate lunch in Harrisonburg ..home of James Madison University... need to eat at the Clementine Cafe ... real cool place.... great earthy food and beer...check out the downstairs as well as the main dining area...hope this helps...enjoy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We loving hearing that you had such a great time exploring Luray and the surrounding area.

Yes, fall and winter are great seasons to come visit us! There are great things in the area to do year-round. Luray Caverns is open all year, Skyline Drive offers magnificent views all year and the inn offers fantastic get-away experiences (with seasonal wine dinners, spa packages and more). Be sure to Like us on Facebook and also sign up for our Mimslyn e-mailer via our website to keep up to date on all of our specials.

Thanks again for staying at The Mimslyn while exploring the Shenandoah Valley. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My daughter and I went to Mimslyn Inn for an overnight as a getaway. We truly enjoyed our meal at the Speakeasy restaurant and had wonderful service from the staff. The leaves were changing and we sat out on the front porch and enjoyed the weather and the trees. Check-in went well and the staff was pleasant and efficient. Our room was very nice and we were thrilled to have a king size bed (which was extremely comfortable) with a fireplace. There was also a jacuzzi in the bathtub. I didn't see any mold or stained linens or furniture. We also had a very pleasant breakfast in the morning. I also participated with a Groupon promotion. For the room I received I felt the price was reasonable. Also, the Inn offers promotions on their own. I intend to return soon with my husband for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shell2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We are so happy that you and your daughter had such a nice getaway at The Mimslyn! You visited us during a spectacular time of year. Sitting in a rocking chair on the front porch, enjoying the fall breeze and looking out at the mountains with the leaves changing colors - there is nothing better! We love that you found your room to be so relaxing.

We are thrilled that you found The Mimslyn via our Groupon promotion. Yes, we do also offer promotions via our website and email club exclusive specials - so be sure to sign up for our Mimslyn e-mailer via our website.

Thank you again for sharing your positive experience with others on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back again for your weekend getaway with your husband. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel is what you would expect for an old historic hotel - old but clean. With the exception of the separate restaurant staff and the very friendly/helpful morning doorman, we had a very difficult time getting help from the staff. We were quoted the incorrect price for our stay and also tried to make reservations for the wine tasting's that were cancelled upon our reservation request.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLC1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel looks gorgeous on the way up the drive and it was decorated out for Halloween. Check-in was ok, can't say we got a warm welcome with big smiles and we had only been allocated a room for 1 night when I had booked 2 nights through Hotels.com- not sure who’s fault this was. During the discussion to get this sorted out with reception I was referred to as 'her' a couple of times. I thought the usual etiquette in hotels was to call your customer by their name i.e Mrs X's booking not 'her' booking!! Although we had asked for a quiet room, as we always do, we got room 102 which is up a small flight of steps next to reception (where you could hear them talking from inside the room!) and it was right next to a swing door which led to an outside door which we knew would be trouble. Within 2 minutes of being in the room it banged constantly, we weren't pleased especially as this was the most expensive hotel on our whole tour. So my husband went straight back to the front desk and asked to be moved - they do have a 100% customer satisfaction guarantee after all- but, they were full, which was strange as people were arriving after us, so you would have thought we could switch rooms. I'm not sure how this 100% guarantee applies then, as were certainly not satisfied?? I must say the room itself was very nice, small and probably too much furniture, but very comfy bed. The bathroom was nice with good toiletries but had a buzzing light. They do have a 'quiet policy' after 10pm but unfortunately it doesn't stop ignorant customers slamming their doors, and also the door next to us, at 1:30am and also 5:00am, which even with ear plugs wakes you up with a start!! After a very restless night we did ask again to be moved the next morning, fortunately we had a much more obliging receptionist who said yes no problem, so we re-packed and left our cases with reception for the day. On our return we had been moved onto the top floor, and got about 5 minutes in a bigger room with fireplace, until the porter realised we had been given the wrong room, as he wanted to put someone else’s bags in there! Ah well, it would have been a nice gesture for the hotel to make amends for our problems, but not to be. I was looking forward to staying here as I had read the good reviews and thought it would be a bit of luxury away from the chain hotels, but it was spoiled from the start really. Our second room was much quieter, smaller but with a bigger bathroom, and I think if we had been put in here from the start we would have had a very different experience.
We didn't eat in the hotel but there are some restaurants and fast food places a short drive away. Also Skyline Drive was about 15 mins drive- entrance fee to the NP of $15 lasts for 5 days too.
All in all, this was a nice comfortable hotel but the customer service was not up to scratch, especially for the price you pay. I doubt we would go back to Luray but we wouldn't be staying here again anyway and not sure I would recommend it. Also, just so you are aware there is some major construction next door which started at 7am.

Room Tip: Do NOT get room 102!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boydsmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us such detailed feedback on your recent stay. As you mentioned, typically we get glowing reviews from our guests. However, we really seemed to have missed the mark with your recent stay with us. We apologize that your first evening at the inn was not relaxing due to the noise from the other guests near you. We also apologize that we were not able to move you until the next morning. Because each guest is reserved for a specific room type, it is possible that the guests that you mentioned who arrived after you were reserved in a different room type than yours. We are happy to hear that your 2nd evening with us was more relaxing and peaceful.

Again, we do appreciate your feedback. All guest comments are reviewed during our weekly staff meeting. We will be using your comments to remind our staff of the importance of service etiquette and follow-up to guest requests. We sincerely hope that you would consider staying with us again if your travels bring you to Luray. We would love to have the opportunity to show you the Mimslyn Inn hospitality and service that most of our guests experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our room was very nice. Not as clean as I would have expected with what they usually charge guests (hair in the shower...mold here & there...slight stains on some of the upholstery), but we had a Groupon and only paid 1/2 price, so I didn't complain. The bed was comfortable. We stayed for two nights and our room was not cleaned while we were there. The food in the restaurants in the hotel was only satisfactory and once again..not worth what they were charging. That being said, the hotel is right in the middle of the Appalachian Mountains and there are so many things to do in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I attended a function at the Mimslyn Inn today and was very pleasantly supprised at how helpful and friendly their staff was. Especially the doorman Paul Bell. He went out of his way to be helpful and answer questions about the hotel. If their entire staff is as competent and friendly as this man, this would be a great place to stay!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
41 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Property: The Mimslyn Inn
Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing