We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was a fantastic anniversary stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“It was a fantastic anniversary stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the minslyn inn for our anniversary... It was a magical weekend!! Everything from the initial walking into the lobby to our 5 star dinner at circa 31 and not to mention wonderful hot stone massage with rich and Lindsey! I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggiegentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for selecting The Mimslyn for your anniversary getaway. We love hearing that your weekend was magical from beginning to end. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner in Circa '31 and your hot stone massage. We will pass on your compliments to Rich and Lindsey.

Thank you again for spending your special weekend with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon...perhaps The Mimslyn could become an anniversary tradition for you and your husband. We greatly appreciate you recommending The Mimslyn to your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    263
    75
    31
    16
See reviews for
176
560
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
CHERRY HILL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

On our travels to the Skyline Dr. we were able to visit the Mimslyn Inn, a great historic and beautiful place on a hill just a short drive from the entrance to the Skyline Dr.
We experienced the wine tasting and sat with another couple, it was very nice.
We wanted to have dinner in the fine dining room but it was not open, so we ate in the prohibition room, the waitress and staff were pleasant, but our dinners came out amazingly fast leading me to believe that the items were not scratch made, I had the pasta with vegetables in a alfredo type sauce tasted very weak and jarred. My girl had the fish and it was meh....
I hope and would expect the restaurant should be better, but I think its the same kitchen.
I would give it another chance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mleotta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and stayed for a long weekend starting 10/20/12. I treated myself to a hot stone massage and reflexology my first day there and it was one of best I've had. Rich, the on site massage therapist is a consummate professional and very skilled. So pamper yourself with a fabulous massage, I highly recommend it! Kim G.

Room Tip: Beautiful hotel, pleasant and professional staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLEN ALLEN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Beautiful restoration and nice setting for historic inn. We did not have dinner, but breakfast was excellent and wine tasting fun. Staff very focused and one small housekeeping issue was shared at checkput and staff was following up before we left. Doorman Paul is a real asset and sells the place. Crystal led our afternoon tasting and was humble about her evolving wine knowledge, but made it enjoyable. One of us had dinner here 25 years ago and the inn was tarrnished and decaying, although the meal was outstanding. Now, they have a gem and we plan to return. Only criticism was heating/AC is noisy.

Room Tip: Hopefully, higher floor rooms have less A/C unit noise. Corner room was sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suwlij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I spent a beautiful fall weekend at the Mimslyn Inn. The hotel was beatifully restored as were the rooms and grounds. Our room was comfortable and spacious. We enjoyed a wine tasting on Saturday afternoon hosted by Crystal.
She was very attentive. All the hotel staff was avaliable for any needs.

We ate dinner in the Speakeasy Bar. It was just ok. Our server seemed to be having a bad night and the other servers took over for her as far as refills and other needs. The food was ok. Nothing special. Sunday morning we ate breakfast buffet in the upstairs restaurant. It was good. Again nothing special.

We would return to the Mimslyn again in the fall. It was an easy location to Skyline Drive with beautiful views of the mountains.

Room Tip: We stayed in a handicapped king room which gave us a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birder39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My significant other and myself recently stayed two nights in this wonderful inn. The room and bed proved to be very confortable and exquisitely decorated. The service, accomodations, and the all around stay was much better than we ever expected. The Speakeasy Bar proved to be a great place to 'snack out' or full meal. There's no hotel in the Luray area that comes near to the Mimslyn. We're going back for the Oysterfest on 10 November.

Mike and Susan

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Mike and Susan,
Thank you so much for the complimentary review about your August stay at The Mimslyn. We love hearing that we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for the very nice comment that you believe that no hotel in the Luray area comes near to the Mimslyn - what a compliment! We hope you had a great time on your return visit for Oysterfest! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This lovely inn is a delightful experience to spend a holiday! The staff was welcoming and helpful. The accommodations were comfortable, and the Speakeasy offered delicious food. The veranda is perfect for an afternoon cocktail with a view of the mountains. The inn is located very close to the entrance to the Shenandoah National Park, and just down the road from the Luray Caverns. I look forward to returning in the near future!
Geri D.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Geri,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Mimslyn. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience at the inn and found the staff to be welcoming and helpful and the accommodations comfortable. Many of our guests, like you, love the location of the inn - being so close to Shenandoah National Park and Luray Caverns. There are also some fabulous wineries within a 30 minute drive of the inn.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Be sure to visit our website for information on seasonal specials and packages. You can also sign up for our Mimslyn E-mailer on our website - we also offer some wonderful email club exclusive specials throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Property: The Mimslyn Inn
Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing