We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

My wife and I had a great Valentine getaway weekend at the Mimslyn. We chose the Inn as my parents stayed there on the first night of their honeymoon over 65 years ago and we wanted to check it out. We found the staff to be most friendly and very solicitous of our comfort. Additionally, the food, spacious room, amenities, service, and everything else made for a most enjoyable and special experience...all at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    263
    75
    31
    16
See reviews for
176
560
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Our stay at the Mimslyn was just perfect after an entire weekend of sight seeing in virginia. The Hotel is beautiful and sits up on a large hill overlooking the Shenandoah Valley and Luray. Our suite was very reasonably priced at around $130 and included a jacuzzi, king sized bed, and fireplace. A huge selling point is the speakeasy downstairs which had excellent food at great prices....we got the pulled pork and airline chicken and there was live jazz that night. There is another restaruant on the main floor that is open selected days.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Had a wonderful weekend January 2012 at the Mymslyn Inn in Luray. We got one of the large rooms on the 1st level, what a great room! A nice cheese plate was waiting for us in the room, and the staff at check- in were totally cheerful and helpful. We looked around and had a drink downstairs at the Speakeasy bar. Enjoyed the wonderful hospitality all weekend, did some trips around the area, including Luray Caverns of course. I would recommend staying here without hesitation!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the older, deluxe rooms on the 1st level; huge room, enormous bed, jacuzzi tub. Du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Former patrons unfortunately had a bad first visit. Give the Inn another chance, the food is wonderful and prepared by Chef Harris and his team, all high caliber and local produce as much as possible. Coming from the city, folks have to realize its a slower paced atmosphere, simple and elegant food, less hectic and a genuinely caring staff, totally different from what we experience everyday. There are beautiful views from every angle of the Inn and of course, the lovely quaint town of Luray. No comparison, the Inn is definitely a step above other local hotels. We will keep going to The Mimslyn!

Room Tip: Talk with the front desk, they are gracious and will guide you to the appropriate type room, whether...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gielam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

When visiting family in Luray, we try to stay at the Inn. I agree with the comments above that the food in the dining room is not very good at all, steak is not as advertised, and way over price for less-than-average quality. Also, the dining room is quite full on Sundays as it is a popular place for the after-church older crowd; so, if you came down to eat just after rolling out of bed, you may feel quite uncomfortably under-dressed, like being not being 'dressed for dinner' at grandma and grandpas. If you eat in the Dining Room, dress the part unless you're fine with getting 'looks'. The inn is also very old but Luray is a very old, historic town. We initially were taken aback with the musty air of the hotel but the grandeur and elegance of the history of the inn made up for it and was extremely refreshing from the cookie-cutter hotels you find online. You could almost envision the olden days of gloved ladies in long gowns strolling up and down the staircase and horse-and-wagon pulling up to the front. One of the best things about the old style rooms is that they have adjoining rooms with a sitting room in between. Don't be surprised if you do hear things go bump in the night, too. Ghosts? Spirits? Well, the next morning, our children asked why we had walked into their room during the night. They thought we were just checking on them but we had not left our room at all. The next evening, we left the adjoining room doors open but heard and saw our door knob turning back and forth. My husband got up to see if someone got the wrong room but no one was anywhere in the hallway. Did this frighten us away? Not at all. It added to the family adventure, stories, and made for a great laugh on the way home. We're going back again. Don't let the age or occassional mustiness put you off this historic inn. Understand that adds to its character and charm. The location is excellent as you're just a couple blocks away from the caverns, small petting zoo, and maze. However, would recommend you eat elsewhere. There is a lot better food in town with better quality for less price.

Room Tip: Ask for adjoining room if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank givensdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We spent two nights in Luray with our college aged children, and the Mimslyn was perfect. Our vegetarian daughter's needs were graciously accommodated in the Speakeasy, where we enjoyed live music and local beer.

The outdoor hottub in the brisk freezing evening will be a fond memory, and there were plenty of places to sit and talk. Our kids spent one evening on the Skyline Terrace catching up on each others' lives. It felt like a home away from home.

I recommend the Mimslyn highly and will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RC-Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

What an elegant & fun place to stay in the quaint town of Luray; the people who work there are part of the formula that makes this place special. From the well appointed lobby with fireplace, grand piano, spiral stairway, and adjoining formal dining room, as well as the casual Speakeasy bar & restaurant downstairs, this is a real gem.

The rocking chairs on the portico entrance, and the 3rd floor solarium with fireplaces in both the indoor and outdoor areas are both great places to hang-out and take in the scenery.

We stay at this hotel, and their sister hotel (Barvarian Inn- Shepherdstown, WV) several times a year.

Room Tip: It;s easy......you can rview all the rooms on-line and choose which one suits your taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Property: The Mimslyn Inn
Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing