We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“customer service disappointing”
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
19
Reviewed June 23, 2003

When I made a reservation for a two-night stay, I was told there would be an evening event one night and so dinner would be served in a different location. Little did I know that this would translate into late-night parties two nights in a row...we were told, "Well, we told you there was an event when you made the reservation." In the end, we had to sleep with the bathroom fan on to block the noise. The second night, we were turned away from dinner after we arrived at 8:29; although the door to the restaurant was open and others were enjoying their meal, we were told that the kitchen closed at 8:30 and therefore we could not stay. Front desk staff when we checked out didn't seem particularly bothered by either of these experiences. I consider myself a pretty easy-to-please traveler, but the customer service at the Mimslyn was really a disappointment.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (993)
There are newer reviews for The Mimslyn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

988 - 993 of 993 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 21, 2002

We just completed a 2-week trip stopping at a different place almost every night. I had to come back and write about the Mymslyn Inn first as it was definitely the best experience we had on our journey! Although there is work to do and work underway to reneovate this grand inn it was gorgeous and the staff was wonderful. On a Thursday night we had the place about to ourselves since thier main business is weddings and conventions. The front porch is a great place to relax and enjoy evening drinks or morning cofee. Our total bill was a little over $100 and INCLUDED our 2 tickets to Luray Caverns, (a value of $32), AS WELl AS a complete, "off the menu" breakfast in the luxurious dining room. The entrance to Luray is about 2 blocks away and an entrance to Skyline Drive is about 10-15 minutes away. I highly recommend this experience!!!!

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
Thank Aleksander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
49 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range: $168 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing