We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmed”
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PilgrimMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2007

This old historical hotel (inn) on the hIll in downtown Luray is my favorite place to stay, granted this place is an aging hotel, but the history of is structure and original owners is enthrawling. Some of the rooms have been remodeled, the grounds are wonderful, the dining room is medocre' but sitting on the grand, column clad, front porch in the rocking chairs while you enjoy an afternoon drink and listening to the sounds of the surrounding mountains, I am sure you will hear some of the 1864 Virginia Company boys, clanking cups, pitching tents, and sharpening their bayonettes, as they prepare for the next days battle ore' dem hills. I love history and you will too once you visit Luray and the neighboring towns and battlefields , dont forget to head a little out of town down to the Shenandoah River or up the road a piece to check out the scenery of Skyline drive only a short 10 minute drive from Luray. If you get hurngry for a good steak while up there, stop by Dans Steak House between Luray and Mt. Jackson, and heck while you heading that way, go on and see the old covered bridge a spit up the road too. Let me know what you think of Luray and the surrounding Shenandoah region, I think it's a little piece of heaven on earth!

Thank Topotraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nuck_Chorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

The Grand Old Mimslyn is quite the site to see as you are driving up. The outside has the grand elegance it boasts. The inside needs work, but they are doing alot of rennovations. The room had bijou charm. Small but the view was lovely and it was quite cozy. The heater was turned on for us before we arrived. Upstairs there is a lovely conservatory with an ever burning fireplace. The dinning room is quite nice and the food is excellent. The bar tender is very nice and the drinks are cheap and strong. The breakfast buffet was nice as well. My only complaint was that they had a wedding going on which we were not warned about. All Saturday night they were dancing and eating in the loby making it uncomfortable to move about the hotel. However, while the first floor was very loud I could not hear a thing from the third floor. Be advised that there are no stairs and while they say they have many cable channels half of them are fuzzy and full of static. But I wouldn't advise going to Lurray to watch Cable TV so it was not much of an inconvience. One last comment on Luray itself. We stayed there two nights but Luray does not offer two days worth of activities and the Wedding in the lobby prevented us from enjoying a nice dinner and drinks in the hotel on Saturday night. But I would highly recomend going to Luray staying for one night, the Mimslyn is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scarletacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2006

After reading the reviews I wondered what we might find at the Mimslyn!!

Yes it is a tired building but in a lovely setting and the building itself has an air of elegance about it! There is clearly some refurbishment going on as my room looked as though it had been recently painted and the carpet looked reasonably new. That said, the owners still have some work to do. The building is light and airy but very tired in places (the dining room is old fashioned and a little shabby). The large reception area, again is elegant but tired and they could do so much more with the bar area. There is a pleasant porch at the front where you can sit and enjoy the evening sun and watch Luray go by! Food is acceptable and service is excellent and staff very friendly.

Would I stay there again? Probably. The other options in Luray are very unappealing unless you like tired chain motels (Best Western is opposite and looks like it could be anywhere in the US). If the management really are serious about bringing Mimslyn into the 21st century then it will be a fantastic place to stay and a great location for exploring the Shenandoah Valley.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank London_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sacramento, California
25
Reviewed October 2, 2005

We selected the Mimslyn because Fodors (a two year old version) rated the hotel highly. We left early because: The room didn't smell right; there were ants in the bed; the dining room had more problems than I can list; the elevator required an operator (who wasn't always available); the person who painted the room had a drippy paintbrush; the person who cleaned up after the painter left many splotches; the toilet seat was loose.
My general impression is that the grandness has been allowed to deteriorate into sloppiness.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 9, 2006

We have read and noted the compliments as well as the complaints regarding our hotel. The Mimslyn Inn was bought in November and the new owners are currently doing renovations to the Inn and have many plans for the future of our "grand ole Inn." The plans are to restore her to her former elegance and we invite everyone to come back after renovations are complete to enjoy the casual elegance and comfortable atmosphere we offer our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2005

We had the unfortunate experience of staying at the Mimslyn Inn for two nights. We would have checked out after one night, but our daughter was not feeling well and we didn't want to travel until she was feeling better. Frommer's guidebook had described it as a grand old inn with wear and tear here and there. It should have said wear and tear EVERYWHERE. We are not picky travelers, often staying at inexpensive chain hotels. But, this place had ants, so we had to change rooms. Musty smell everywhere. The rugs and furniture were from the 1930's. The restaurant served greasy food, with no fresh fruits or vegetables. Staff was apathetic. Would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank speechmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
58 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#5 of 9 in Luray
140 reviews
6.8 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range: $105 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing