We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great service, great fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gathering Grounds

Gathering Grounds
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $11
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Now open at our new location!! We offer a unique dining experience: serving breakfast, gourmet sandwiches, soups and salads with a full-service espresso bar, homemade pastries and pies in a relaxing atmosphere. Wine and beer - on and off. Open 7 days a week.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stopped by for lunch--the menu had lots of variety, and our meals were excellent, service was fast and friendly, and the renovated hardware store décor really charming. Don't miss this one!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beac0n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    137
    29
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went to the Gathering Grounds two days in a row while we were in the area for the weekend and both times were great. The staff are lovely and very friendly and the eclectic decor is fun. The first day we had coffee and pie. Lemon chess pie and apple pie, both of which were delicious. The second day we went back with our friends for lunch. The order got a little mixed up (but it may have been our English accents) but they sorted everything out immediately with no fuss. The food was delicious. The first day we were there we met a guy who' s grandfather used to own the shop when it was a hardware store. He remembers hanging around the store when he was young. Very cool!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best in Luray”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

A delightfully creative restoration of an old hardware store. The kind of place that invites you in just by looking in the door. Service is great. Menu has a nice array of choices. Desserts (pies and patisseries) are super. Nice selection of coffees.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stormy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“wonderful coffee shop, and great breakfast too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

wonderfull eclectic coffee shop. great breakfast menu, the food was delicious, and they are able to make accomadations for Gluten Free! Coffee was wonderful, fresh ground as we ordered. neat decor, wonderful looking pastries!!. very good staff

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great lunch-great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We had been in Luray Caverns and needed lunch! Cheked here and saw the good reviews here and wanted to give it a try. Well worth it!! The food was very good, we where a party of 6 and everyone was pleased! We loved the hardware look and the relaxed atmosphere! Will be back if we go up there again:) Thanks for a lovely lunch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sigrun65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gathering Grounds also viewed

 

Been to Gathering Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing