We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Day”
Review of Gathering Grounds

Gathering Grounds
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $11
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Now open at our new location!! We offer a unique dining experience: serving breakfast, gourmet sandwiches, soups and salads with a full-service espresso bar, homemade pastries and pies in a relaxing atmosphere. Wine and beer - on and off. Open 7 days a week.
Perryville, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Day”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were a group from Maryland celebrating a JMU graduation! What a perfect place for our special day! The food and desserts were delicious. The service was pleasant and readily available. A hidden treasure! Thank you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinW21903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    141
    32
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Funky decor, wonderful people”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This restaurant is fun from the moment you walk in the door. It's located in a former hardware store and they've kept a lot of the flooring and huge storage cabinets from the store.

We all had one of their sandwiches (I had the chicken salad) and everyone was very pleased with the choices. I'm picky about chicken salad and this one was just right. Nice chunky bits of chicken, not chicken 'paste' like some places have.

And, they had chocolate milk! I'm a happy camper.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jean_likes_maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Pleasing”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I loved the atmosphere of this coffee shop/ deli. If I lived locally, I would definitely come back for a cup of coffee and to people-watch in the corner. During my visit I ordered the Winchester Panini - which was awesome. The sandwiches automatically come with chips or a pasta salad but I paid a small upcharge for a side Caesar. I checked in in Four Square and scored a few soft drink. I'd def go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nitpickers_Delight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“It is really good homemade food with great service.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

It is really good homemade food in an old building with great decor. The service is wonderful and personal. Highly recommend the homemade pies. Wish it was closer to home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StampingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect coffee shop”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Delicious chocolate chip pecan pie! Great space to work in on a road trip (free wi-fi greatly appreciated). Busy and vibrant, highly recommend this place and will make a point of returning on my next trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptGreatBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gathering Grounds also viewed

 

Been to Gathering Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing