We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location. Fun. But needs a good cleaning.”
River access cabin with beautiful mountain views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River access cabin with beautiful mountain views
Go fishing or canoeing right from the property (you cannot see the river from the house) Spacious living room w/ fireplace and hi-def TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
85 reviews
River access cabin with beautiful mountain views
Go fishing or canoeing right from the property (you cannot see the river from the house)
Spacious living room w/ fireplace and hi-def TV
Tournament size pool table in game room
Beautiful king master bedroom with armoire & HDTV
Large hot tub with 40 jets
Full kitchen including dishwasher
Tournament size ping pong & foosball tables
Huge campfire pit
2nd bedroom with queen and twin beds & HDTV
3rd bedroom with queen and twin bunks & HDTV
Fully laundry service
2 large canoes w/ oars and life jackets
Outdoor grill
Unlimited firewood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DolphinJe...
1 review
“Great location. Fun. But needs a good cleaning.”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent 10 days here in July 2016. Lots of great things to say from everyone in our family. River is about a 5 minute walk from the house but they provide a wagon to lug your things down with you. There's a picnic table by the river and another by the house. Tubing was fun. Washer and dryer in the house was a great benefit although the washer leaks water on the floor. Foosball table is in the maater bedroom and in great shape. The outdoor metal "garage" has a great pool table and a ping pong table that needs some help. Still works well enough for
fun. The garage lights weren't working but when we notified the mgr, he had an electrician out on the first business day. Lights were working before we even got out of bed. However within a few hours they died again. Mgr provided a set of temporary lights. The building got a lot of water inside during rain storms but doesn't get on game tables. There's a small A/C but it didnt keep up during the upper 90s July temps. Garage was 90-100 degrees. House ac works wonderfully though.
The only complaint was cleanliness. We were able to clean it with Clorox wipes in about 20 minutes and just avoided certain spots. Not a huge deal and we would still stay here again. We thought the kitchen sink was filthy but it is just stained (its plastic). The outdoor plastic trash can was broken which made the raccoons happy. Cleaning up that mess had us face to face with maggots the first day we arrived. Maybe a metal can with a strapped on lid would help. Toothbrush holder in the master bath is growing some fungus. You can easily just not use it and the rest of that bathroom seemed clean. We cleaned the other bathroom when we arrived.
Again, other than the cleanliness the house and location are great.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
Thanks for the great feedback, Jennifer. We ran into a couple problems with electrical while you were there. We will work hard to address the issues you ran into. We actually did a cleaning inspection with housekeeping the morning you arrived and had a small list of items that we went over with them to address. You were arriving in a few hours so we didn't have time for them to hit them all, but we've seen the things you've mentioned. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawan S
Springfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Couldn't get any better”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was my second time booking a reservation with Shenandoah Rentals(Cardigan Cabins). These guys never fail to impress you with their excellent hospitality. Beautiful place to stay with all amenities. Hot Tub/Canoes/Bicycles/Firepit/Gameroom etc.. Nothing else I could have asked for. Had a perfect vacation with friends and family !!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrus L
Waldorf, Maryland
2 reviews
“Awesome Place. I would/will visit again.”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My wife and I went here for our 2nd anniversary. We chose this location for the canoes, bikes, and the hot tub. The canoes were down by the river. We didn't canoe because there was a small drop which caused the current to flow away from our location. My wife (who's a nervous Nancy) was worried SHE couldn't paddle against the current. I didn't think it was that bad but anyway. The inside was nice and clean and organized. It had one of the satellite cable services with many channels. Plenty of DVD movies to watch. The master bed was very very comfortable. The hot tub was awesome. There were instructions for any and everything you operated there. Hot tub, fireplace, grille, etc all had instructions on how to operate. We didn't open the storage where the bikes were. The only things that kept this from being a 5 is the main driveway is a bit steep. You can tell someone already ran in to the garage with their car. This leads to the garage where the pool table and ping pong table are not being fully insulated. both of those issues are really no biggie but need to be mentioned. Some of the attractions they have listed in their binder are out of date. The businesses either no longer exist or the numbers have been changed. The binder itself needs to be replaced. The middle ring is broken and makes turning pages annoying. Lastly, in a literal sense, yes the property ends at the river. No one mentioned that it is (roughly) 0.2mi or about 300-400 meters away from the house. Not a big issue because the canoes are down by the water already. The fire pit is nice. They supplied enough wood for our 2 night stay. I would definitely recommend this place and I will be staying there again in the future. They mention that you can't GPS to the place. I had no issue using my cell phone (on Sprint Network using Google Maps) to get there. I also have a 2010 vehicle with GPS in it that was able to map it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The amenities. (Fire place, fire pit, hot tub, grille)
Liked least: Distance from the water.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2016
Andrus, thanks for the great feedback. We'll replace that binder and older sign materials. Re: garage door... We are fully aware of the car hitting garage door incident (trust me - frustrating issue) and have been working on doing R&D on the fix. It's been a difficult process because the garage's original manufacturer doesn't sell replacement parts (yay!). So we've been figuring out how to get those pieces of trim elsewhere. At any rate, glad you enjoyed the stay and see you next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean H
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
“Wonderful Holiday Getaway”
Reviewed December 31, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

The house was wonderful. It was cozy, clean, and everything was available. Wifi was super fast, Hot tub was nice, heater and fireplace kept us warm, unlimited amount of DVDs kept us up at night, TV in each room was a plus for privacy at times, and most of all, we loved the fire pit and loads of wood to burn all night long.

Shower water was a bit weak especially when more than one shower was running. The game room could use extra care (ie. ping pong table was wet and hundreds of dead bugs were not swiped off).

Our 3 night stay was just wonderful. Our family had such wonderful time. We can't wait to visit again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Fire pit, Hot tub, Bikes, Waterfront
Liked least: Shower, Gameroom
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppasan3
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
“Relaxing but dissapointing”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Good: Comfortable beds, roomy with plenty of space inside and out. Hot tub was nice and the fire pit was utilized for making Smore's. View of the river was superb and the mountains provided a good backdrop for this hideaway.
Bad: Canoes were useless because there is no public access for the boats down river. Condition of games, gear and assorted play equipment was poor. Many items were in disrepair and need to be fixed or replaced. The outside of the unit need a power washing, weeding and trimming. Several items inside the unit were broken. Game room is a metal garage with no air flow or circulation. Considering the cost, this place is over-rated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub, wading and viewing in the river, and the firepit
Liked least: Condition of sporting equipment and overall upkeep of the property.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2015
There is plenty of public river access both upriver and downriver. A map is readily available online here:
https://www.google.com/maps/d/u/0/viewer?mid=zbtfnDV13_30.k9L0-sWq3zEw&hl=en_US
And of course we provide your own private stretch of riverfront for launching the canoes we also provide.
We are currently installing an AC unit in the game room garage. All the game tables are in working order, so we are unsure what these guests thought was in disrepair as they did not say.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy W
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fun Despite a Few Issues”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Good: The property was clean and well maintained (except the front of the house, which needs a power washing). There is a mini beach area at the river. Management responded promptly to questions/issues (although 1 was not remedied because of other priorities). Many deer/rabbit sightings.
The Caveats: Don’t just bring yourself and clothes… bring your toiletries and seasonings! Only hand soap was on site. The seasonings were very limited. No instructions for use of the grill (which has no propane tank-I was not familiar with this set up). Many deer/rabbit sightings (i.e., bring a leash for your dog).
The Less than Ideal: $50 per extra adult may be "standard" but seems a bit overboard for the amount of water and laundry each one required. Limited and broken seating near river. Living room furniture is not comfortable.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2015
It's true that we don't provide toiletries or condiments - we don't claim that we do, because people are quite particular about what they want to use. Our pricing is clearly listed.

Regarding the furniture, it is made from rustic hewn logs. Many people love it, others don't; no accounting for taste! These guests would prefer Bear Timbers cabin next time, which has overstuffed club-style leather couches.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris R
Sammamish, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed at Bear Meadows with my family and we had a great time. We enjoyed the facilities and the location. There is a nice view of the mountains from the deck. The cabin was clean. We had 4 adults and three teens. There is one room with a king bed and then 2 rooms with 1 bunk bed each. The bottom bunk is a queen sized mattress. The cabin is close enough to skyline drive to enjoy hiking. The room with the pool table was quite hot during the day but the property manager did say they were going to put in a window air conditioner but that wouldn't happen until after I stay. We stayed pretty busy without those amenities but we would have enjoyed some play in there too. The foosball table is on the house so we played with that. Overall a great experience. We would stay longer next!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Had all we needed and wanted
Liked least: Too hot in the "rec" room space
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing