We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms, clean.”
Review of The Cardinal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cardinal Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Connecticut, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Large rooms, clean.”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The first thing I do when I enter a hotel, is check the bedding. Amenities are not my priority, I prefer a simple room that is clean. It is a bit dated, but I was satisfied with our room in this hotel. The mattress was not the most comfortable, but it was sufficient and there were no signs of bugs anywhere. The room and bathroom are spacious. The bathroom had a long countertop with a mirror above the entire length... a nice bonus traveling with teen girls! There was a fridge and microwave, but no hair dryer. The air conditioner was older, but worked well. My computer said that I was connected to their wi-fi, but I couldn't get an internet connection? I didn't ask the office for help so I'm not sure what was wrong. We did not see a pool anywhere, although the front sign mentioned a jacuzzi... we did NOT look for that. Ice is only available at certain hours... I couldn't get any at 8:00am.
As I was opening the curtains about 7:30am, I noticed a train going by in the back of the hotel, but I didnt hear it until after I saw it.
There is a movie theater 1 mile down the road and a fantastic coffee shop next door to that... The Gathering Grounds. Luray Caverns was a couple more miles down.
As we drove around, it seemed like we made a good choice for the price range. There was a place nearby with a large "M" mowed into the grass, but it looked like an expensive country club. Otherwise, the Cardinal Inn was a good choice for us and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    41
    10
    19
See reviews for
38
56
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The room was very clean and nice. The person that checked us in was very Accommodating,polite and helpful. I will highly recommend to stay at this motel. The room that I stayed had a tiny small kitchen and it was very useful

Room Tip: Th rooms on right are very nice and on left are nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kano j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountville, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The facility may be a little dated but our Suite was perfect for us.
Private bungalow type room in the back.
Wonderful screened patio overlooking green grass and trees.
BBQ place across the street does takeout, We didn't want to leave our patio.
Located in the quit part of town, yet close enough to the caverns and the skyline drive.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The spa tub was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensbury, new york
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I spent two comfortable nights at the Cardinal Inn, going to and coming from both Shenandoah National Park and Luray Caverns. The inn is conveniently located for both attractions, as well as conveniences in town. The motel is situated away from the busier part of town, making it rather quiet as well. The management was very friendly and the two different rooms we stayed in were quite clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay at the Cardinal Inn again, if we are in the area.

Gerry & Lynne L.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank australia08_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and had a King Room to myself. Very reasonably priced for what you get. Its not modern but very clean and tidy and the room had everything I needed. Including a microwave and a fridge which enabled me to make my own breakfast each morning. A nice part of town and easy access to Shenandoah NP.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sloaney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chesterfield, VA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Staff was extremely friendly, room was clean. Bathroom smelled of smoke from what seemed to be the neighboring room; told the owner before leaving for the day and came back to a fresh smelling room and no more issues. The place was quiet, and a hopm skip, and a jump from all that Luray has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were on a spring break trip to Luray, VA and the Shenandoah Mountains looking for a place to stay with good value for our retirement budget. If you are looking for good value and a friendly staff, this is the place. The springtime daily rate was very affordable. The staff person we met was friendly and helpful. We could walk to the downtown or drive to the mountains. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suprmom39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
1.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
983 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
1.3 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
46 reviews
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cardinal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cardinal Inn

Property: The Cardinal Inn
Address: 1005 E Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1621 (Formerly Best Value Inn-Luray Caverns)
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cardinal Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cardinal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal Inn By Silver Star Hotel Luray
Cardinal Hotel Luray
Cardinal Hotel By Silver Star

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing