We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty!”
Review of The Cardinal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cardinal Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our group took 6 rooms for the night. Bugs in every room. Worms, roaches and moths. WiFi did not work for anyone. TV stations: some worked some did not. AC blowing warm in the middle of the night. Worst experience of our 10 day trip. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Best Western in town $10 cheaper and offers breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 136 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

This place is not as in website.The 1st room that was offered smelled bad of mice,filthy hot tub very dusty.2nd room was no better the guy took us for $330,wasn't gonna give our money back,offered a 2nd room instead not any better.We went and bought lysol wipes and air spray,didn't help much but we had our dog and couldn't stay anywhere else.The so called "enclosed porch"was falling off the back of the building.And the manager stole my diamond rings.Flew back down took him to court got nothing bcause I couldn't prove it am going to appeal it .Would NOT stay there.Photos on website are 10years old.The place is a discusting hell hole.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I can't complain, We payed very little for a spacious and clean room and bathroom. It's a good old-fashioned Motel... which does not mean that it's old or run down - Not at all!

I felt comfortable when we stayed there with my parents ,who had come to visit from Germany. We stayed there because we wanted our Motel to be close to the entrance of the Shenandoah National Park.

Really, compared to the other Motels in the area, this is the most comfortable one from all. We actuall came back a second time, when my sister from Germany came to visit.

And we will go there again :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darling78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Booked a room for three---When we arrived we were brought to three different rooms before they even open the doors...the third room was in the back of motel...we put our bags in and proceeded to do what we came for,when we returned to the room is was early night,we opened the door and went in found a spider in the corner and then one roach on the wall and then another near the bed...then one on the toilet seat...got our bags and went to office and told them about the roaches and they tried to give us another room and went in opened first drawer good no bugs he opened second drawer and there they were roaches ...We got a our money back and left....THE BOARD OF HEALTH NEEDS TO LOOK INTO TO THIS MOTEL...

Room Tip: Go somewhere else unless you like ROACHES!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Part of motel seemed to be in use as social housing during our stay in the whirlpool suite. Kids and adults all screaming until late into night. Plastic toys being dragged across gravel during the lull in hostilities. Owner may have seen this as a sound commercial decision at one stage, I guess he regrets it now. Call before you book, if the trailer people have gone it might just be worth a try, there's not a lot else close to the trail and this motel has a nicer parkland location than the rest.

Room Tip: Whirlpool suite has a private back porch overlooking well kept gardens and wildlife, only any use if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viking7a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The only bright spot is the pleasant owner and son and the cheery exterior with its fresh coat of paint. But I would never stay here again. I should have said no after seeing the room and smelling the smell of insecticide, but it was a holiday weekend and the kids were tired. Curtains don't open or close properly, bathroom so old it's hard to tell if it's clean (I actually think it is), only 2-prong outlets, no coffeemaker (owner lent me one when I asked but it doesn't work!) Bed surprisingly decent and once I got password straightened out the wi-fi did actually work. (So there are a few more bright spots.) Really the whole place is begging for a complete renovation. Too far to walk into town and I thought the rate too high for the quality.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Nice clean room with small TV, mini-fridge and microwave. Free Wi-Fi with decent speeds. Comfortable bed (clean sheets) and large bathroom with shower/bath. Not much else to say, nice small town motel with a dated 70's decor.

Booked online and checked in late during prime season (Oct 2011), and did not experience any problems. No tall grass or broken windows like other reviewers here have indicated.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
1.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,005 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
53 reviews
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cardinal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cardinal Inn

Address: 1005 E Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1621 (Formerly Best Value Inn-Luray Caverns)
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range: $70 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cardinal Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cardinal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal Inn By Silver Star Hotel Luray
Cardinal Hotel Luray
Cardinal Hotel By Silver Star

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing