We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place around”
Review of Hillside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside Motel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best place around”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This motel may not look like much from the outside but don't be fooled, it is great! It is so clean and the staff was so helpful in accommodating our large group on a moments notice. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this place over the other chains in the area. The location is great too! Hillside Motel saved my weekend with a great place to stay! Oh, the pool is really clean too. These people obviously care.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mshake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    53
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
50
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is the best place to stay in Luray! The owners were so nice. The value is excellent. The pool was clean and had some floaties and tubes to use. The rooms were clean. They have one, two and three bed options. I highly recommend this over any chain hotel in the area. We did not hear our neighbors on either side of our room during our stay. It was a wonderful experience. The owners had excellent recommendations of where to eat during our trip as well. So friendly!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ohiotravels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very clean and very nice staff. older motel but owners great. We were run out of days inn by bugs and stopped here looking for somewhere to stay. Pool was very clean. They had 2 bedroom suite. Very quite. would go backif in area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wvu1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevose, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the Hillside Motel for only one night in the spring. The staff was helpful, the room was clean, we had plenty of space, the bathroom was huge, the price was good, and there was coffee in the morning! What more can you ask for? It was cold the weekend we were there, so the pool wasn't open.

I would much rather stay at a small Mom and Pop's motel than a chain. I enjoy the personal touch that this type of motel offers. I will stay there again when visiting Skyline Drive!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HrComsTrbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here in May and were very satisfied. Room was nice, clean and comfortable. It was very quiet and charming. This hotel is an excellent value for your money. The staff were very friendly. We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

we wouldn't stay any where else its convienant and charming staff is very helpful you wont find a better place than .this....my husband is very ill and this will probably be our last trip pool and rooms are great looking forward to seeing sam and linda again

Room Tip: number 1 is our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Lovely little country motel - beautiful views, sit on the front porch and watch the sunrise over the mountains. Very reasonable rates. Friendly and very helpful staff/owner. The room was nicely decorated, country-style, and very clean and comfortable. We'll definitely stay here again if the need arises. Very convenient location for caverns, skyline drive, and other attractions. Nice pool for the kids.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
3.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
983 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
2.0 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
46 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
14.6 mi away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Motel

Property: Hillside Motel
Address: 1460 US 211 East, Luray, VA 22835-4634
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family ran (3rd generation) family friendly motel. We are nestled between the Blue Ridge and Massanutten Mountains. Only minutes from the Thornton Gap entrance of the Skyline Drive. We are conveniently located near all there is to do, see and enjoy in the Shenandoah Valley! Please contact us for all of your traveling needs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing