We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cabin in Luray”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gander Island Cabins
Ranked #9 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Recently stayed in Gander Island Cabins in Luray and had a great time. We visit the area several times a year and this is the 4th or 5th cabin we have stayed in and found it to be our favorite so far.

Price was fair and cabin was nice and clean and just as advertised. Love the layout and it is close to all attractions in Luray (Caverns, Main Street, National Park). If you are looking for a cabin in the area, I would recommend this one.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RVA_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher48, Owner at Gander Island Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Thank You for such a great review! We try to advertise how centrally located we are to all the attractions,and you really hit the point home for us.We try not to price gouge and be fair in our rates,we look at what a motel would cost and then add the fact that you have a nice hot tub,river front,fire place,etc and came up with a number,we want to thank you again for recognizing these points.Reviews from the kind folks that stay with us keep us on top,Thanks Again and we welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed at the Gander Island Cabins for two nights and absolutely loved it! The cabins are on a cute farm road and right along a river. When we got in and checked the cabin out, I noticed that there were no linens like I had asked for. I called them, and within a half hour, Lisa was down to give them to us. She was really nice and very helpful. The cabin itself was great. They have satellite television, a fully equipped kitchen (minus an oven), and a great jacuzzi. The location was perfect for hiking in Shenandoah National Park and to go out to restaurants at night if you don't want to cook. Although it was just the two of us, the cabin would be fantastic for a group of people. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed for just one short night in October and had a wonderful experience. I booked with Lisa over the phone, while she was on vacation no less. Booking was easy and I received confirmation via email which was nice.

The cabins are located a few miles out of the town of Luray on a wonderful piece of property overlooking the river. Very quiet and nice.

The cabin was wonderfully cozy. You walk up to a deck with a couple of rocking chairs and welcome signs. Inside, you first enter into a living/dining area complete with a small table, futon, and tv. There is a cool little loft with a decent double bed. It has a nice little kitchenette and bathroom- all you need to "camp". The bedroom is in the back of the cabin furnished with a comfortable queen sized bed and a romantic and warm furnace in the corner! I almost forgot!- there is a nice, new hot tub located under the cabin. It was perfect for the fall weather.

The other thing I really liked was the guest book which offered hiking, dining, and activity ideas- a nice touch.

I wish we had been able to stay another night!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_and_B618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I really can't say enough good things about this cabin! First of all, the service we received with timely, friendly, accommodating emails from the owners- Lisa and David, was highly appreciated. They're dog-friendly and although their website says the minimum stay is 2 nights, they will often allow one-night visitors if there isn't anyone else booked for the cabin, which was super nice considering other cabins we had looked at were going to make us pay more for just a one night stay.
I wish we had been able to stay longer though. The cabins are located right on the river, and are equipped with canoes so bring your lifejacket if you want to take it out! Each cabin (there are 2) also has horseshoes, a volleyball net, campfire, AWESOME, clean private outdoor Jacuzzi, hot shower, big,comfy queen-size bed, a kitchen stocked with pots, pans, dishes, glasses, coffee maker, fridge, stove, etc, a loft with a smaller bed, a futon, and Satellite tv! Everything was very clean, so clean you wouldn't know that a dog had stayed in the cabin before you!
The cabins are located on the Gander's property (the street is even named after them) right off the 211 (which runs directly through the Shenandoah Ntnl Park) and is just a 5 minute drive to the Luray Caverns and the beautiful, quaint downtown area of Luray. If you go downtown, be sure to check out the Main St. Bakery. It was FANTASTIC. Oh, and the cabins also offer restaurant and activity ideas in their welcome books inside the cabin. Although it only has 3 reviews on Trip Advisor, they have their own notebook (inside the welcome book) FULL of reviews from past visitors. Visitors also gave great trail trip reviews and restaurant tips in their welcome book.

All in all, our stay was fantastic. We really lucked out finding this place. Thanks so much to Lisa and David for providing such comfortable, private lodging with a personal touch!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliciaInCartagena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

A bit of a gamble, with only one Tripadvisor review before us. But it was absolutely wonderful. Cabin was lovely, simply amazing to sit on the deck looking at and listening to the stream (river?), and feeling so removed from everything and relaxed. Having our own hot tub for the weekend was great - not like a hotel where you never know who's going to join you, and then it closes at 10pm. We sat in the hot tub reading for hours.

It's totally quiet -- exactly what we wanted this weekend. There's just the one other cabin, and a beautiful farm on the other end of a big field. You're far enough from the main road that all you're thinking about is the field and water and trees. But just a couple minutes drive away from conveniences like groceries, restaurants, and the fun stuff like the caverns. (Luray Caverns were great, Endless Caverns were closed for the winter, and Shenandoah Caverns -- with all their add-on attractions -- were enjoyably cheesy). The Chinese place in town was tasty, but definitely not what we're used to. And the Mexican place, Jaliscos, over in New Market - really good and really cheap!

Full size refrigerator, kitchenette with everything we needed, bed was pretty comfortable, plenty of hot water, everything was super clean. There's a loft area with another bed, and the futon in the living room, if you're bringing the fam.

We can't wait to go back and experience it in a different season. Just can't wait.

OH and I almost forgot. It's pet friendly, which is great for some people I know. But we're actually pretty allergic, so when I made the reservation I asked Lisa if she thought we'd be okay because of pets being there all the time. She said she'd make sure. Not only were we okay, but while we were sitting out on the deck on morning, Lisa came to clean the other cabin, and stopped over to say hi and make sure we were fine with our allergies. I was super impressed.

PS - there's a guestbook in the cabin, FULL of notes from happy guests. Can't understand why they didn't share their experiences here, too.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vf-mf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

What a beautiful place to sleep in. The cabins are privately owned by Lisa and David Gander. There are two log cabins that are located next to each other on a very quiet road over looking the river. The cabins are only about two years old. They were very clean. There is a large wooden deck, a small living room with a futon, a loft with a double bed (a little uncomfortable) a small kitchen area with a table for four. A small bathroom, and a large queen size bedroom. The cabin was very, very clean. Below the cabin is your very own hot tub, fire pit and charcoal barbecue grill. There is air conditioning, heat and a satellite tv. My family of four enjoyed staying there. We have no complaints. It was great to wake up in the morining and be in a log cabin. We will definitely stay here again if we travel that way and I have already recommended Gander Cabins to people I know. Why stay in a hotel when you can stay in your own little log cabin, even if you don't really own it yourself!!!

1  Thank Gershep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
3.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,005 reviews
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
4.0 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
136 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
8.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gander Island Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gander Island Cabins

Address: 1039 Ganders Dr, Luray, VA 22835-5030
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing