We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT Dinner”
Review of Speakeasy Bar

Speakeasy Bar
Ranked #5 of 39 Restaurants in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Barto, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A GREAT Dinner”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had dinner here the night we arrived at the Mimslyn Inn and it was the best meal we've had at a restaurant in quite some time. Other than the food, I particularly liked the fact that the singer who was performing that evening had the volume on his amps low enough that you could carry on a conversation. So many smaller places play the music so loud that you can't hear yourself think. I don't know if that was the restaurant's policy or the performer's...but I liked it and more places could learn something from them.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dabauer1701e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    139
    81
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly Pub”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

On a cold rainy night it was great not to have to leave the Inn for dinner. The Speakeasy was delicious! We really enjoyed their selection of comfor foods...the chicken pot pie. Just like Mom used to make! Our server Melissa was most attentive. Looked like the locals enjoy the bar scene here. That's a nice compliment.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank riverspirit61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“During the storm”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The food had good flavor. Reasonable amount of food for the cost.. Great service our waiter was great. No one in the restaurant because of the storm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joannbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Food good! Drinks better!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Good food! Good drinks! Enjoyable time. Crowder was good. My husband had the wings. Service was also very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mickir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just drinks”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Adorable place. Had live music on Friday night. Atmosphere is great. Service is very good. Cozy spot for cocktails. They serve food but we didn't eat. Little lull when the musicians aren't performing.... They should put some music on. Loved the place would return.

Helpful?
Thank Jersey227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Speakeasy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing