We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican food”
Review of Rancho Viejo

Rancho Viejo
Ranked #13 of 38 Restaurants in Luray
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Luray, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Mexican food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great mexican food! The white dip they serve with their salsa and chips in incredible! I have been there over 20 times and have tried many dishes and all of them have been fantastic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    64
    36
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, huge portions and tasty food”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This Mexican restaurant is housed in a former McDonald's restaurant and across the street from a shopping center. There are other locations throughout VA. Food portions were HUGE, inexpensive (most under $10) and tasty. Service was efficient without being overly fussy. My Texas Salad was excellent with different grilled meats and succulent shrimp atop a large salad (no carb!). This is a great dining option if you are visiting Shenandoah National Park (about 40 minutes away from Skyland Lodge) or Luray Caverns (about 15 minutes away).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always enjoy the food at Rancho Viejo. Atmosphere is very nice, even has a patio area. Occasionally has entertainment and specials on food and drinks.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer6942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We enjoyed a great dinner here while visiting family. The restaurant is clean and inviting with friendly staff. The chips and salsa were a nice start and the chips weren't greasy like some other restaurant's. There was also this "white sauce" that came with the chips that was fabulous. The drink selection was good and our entrees were delicious. I had the Pollo Chipotle and it was absolutely wonderful with just the right amount of spice.

Everything was spot on and we will definitely return!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tons of food for a decent price”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I was amazed at the amount of food that came with our two entrees. The waitress brought us chips and salsa while we looked over the menu and brought us more when the first batch had run out. (I love Mexican restaurants with free chips and salsa.) We ordered the burrito combination plate and the vegetarian burritos. Both were great. Like other places in Luray, the only drawback was its antiquated facilities. We are guessing that it formerly was a fast food restaurant with drive through. Regardless, we were glad we ate there and only regretted having eaten too much!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Timoteyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rancho Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing