We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, great food”
Review of Rancho Viejo

Rancho Viejo
Ranked #13 of 39 Restaurants in Luray
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Bel Air, MD
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“great value, great food”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We ate here twice while in the Luray area. Authentic Mexican food, friendly service, reasonable prices, large portions.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank FamMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    68
    36
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Horrible Service!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We weren't even greeted when we came in. It took forever to seat us. They did take our order promptly & the food came out quickly. However, after our food came to the table, our waitress was never seen again! We actually had to go and get our check! When we complained, the cashier just shrugged & said sorry. He did give us a discount for the poor service, but that didn't help anything. Just the fact that he could care less pissed me off even more. We left giving no tip at all & I would advise everyone not to eat here! If you're not a local, expect poor service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chinkymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best In Town”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Authentic mexican with friendly staff. We travel to Cozumel Mexico often and the food at this location is as good as any we have found in Mexico.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank FFXVA22030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican Food at a Decent Price”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Better than average tex - mex food. The Shrimp Yucatan is pretty good. They also make a pretty good chicken soup off the menu. It takes a longer to make but its fresh. A fun place to go while in Luray. I love the patio spring through fall. Consistent service. crowded on weekends but worth the wait for the value.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRightAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

so-so mexican food. decent, but nothing special. pretty cheap though!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank jonpgorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rancho Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing