We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place close to the park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Luray
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very nice hillside campground situated close to the National Park. Good access and facilities. Mountain views are really nice and the place is clean. What more can a camper ask for ?

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campinguy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

I prefer the Yogi Bear campground in Natural Bridge, but this one has a lot to offer. The sites are tight for large travel trailors, but because there is so much to do, you don't spend a lot of time at your site. The pools are lovely. The water was a bit too cold for us early in June, but they are beautiful. We had fun playing minature golf and paddling around on the small pond. The campstore is one of the better ones I've seen, and they offer hand scooped ice cream and snacks poolside, which our daughter and nieces loved. They also offer so many activities for the kids, from family softball games to crafts, we never ran out of fun things to do with the kids. The playground is fantastic! Security is tight, which can be a plus, but even though campground employees were always around, we didn't feel like they were "constantly getting on us" the way we have felt at other campgrounds. All in all, a great place to go. Pretty expensive, but worth it if you have young kids.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaimyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at this location. The first night we stayed at one of the deluxe campsites. It felt a little crowded to me with the other site being almost on top of each other. We ended up liking our neighbors so it wasn't a big deal. We ended up getting a cozy cabin the next night as it was just too hot for my kids to sleep in the tent again. The cabin was very simple with a queen bed and one set of bunk beds but served it's purpose. It had AC and TV so the kids were pleased. We enjoyed all of the amenitites at the campground including mini golf, paddle boats, water slide, game room, pools and laser tag. We very happy with the amount of scheduled activities that were offered and took part in a lot of them. The kids really enjoyed candy bar bingo and the animal show. The entire campground was very clean including the restroom and showers. The only improvment that I would recommend would be having a life guard at the pools. I was shocked how many children were not with an adult at a pool that did not have a life guard on duty.

The only issue we had was that our rented golf cart broke down and would not start. We left it parked on the side of the road and walked the short distance to our cabin. We called the campground to inform them and left a message since it was closed. Within half an hour we had a new golf cart parked outside our cabin with a very sincere apology from one of the rangers.

We purchased a certifikid coupon for this trip so the we felt it was a very good value for the money. The location is beautifu!

We will be going back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend with family and friends and it was fun with lots to do! We had a large group of 10 and 2 cabins were big enough (5 for each) it had 2 bunk beds and a kitchen,bathroom. The jumping pillow is very fun all 10 of us enjoyed it. The waterslide is the 2nd best you need a wristband (available at front desk) but its worth it. With the wristband you can go paddle boating , mini golf and laser tag. Also gold mining for more $ though.there are also volleyball for free being your own ball though. And outhouses for campers. Also a pretty big store in the front. Ziplining is next door for more fun! This place was a great experience I loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smurf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

While the location can not be beat and the amenities acceptable, the management of this resort ruined our very expensive camp vacation. We had originally selected a tent site, which was lovely until the downpour began at 10:30 at night, flooding our site, tents, sleeping bags, and everything else we owned the first night we arrived. The flooding resulted from the site's design, a pooling effect caused by a built up tent pad at the bottom of a large hill.

The park agreed to upgrade us to a cozy cabin, at more than double the tent site rate, with no mention of a restriction on our pet, who was traveling with us. After a night in the cabin, Ranger JR informed us that due to allergy concerns, we could not have our dog in the cabin. No worries, my parents have an RV nearby and can keep our dog at night.

The problem began when JR made it his personal mission to harrass us the rest of the trip, claiming that not only could our pet not be IN the cabin, he can't be 25 feet away on the grass while we eat lunch. Multiple site visits, on the premise of "checking the tail lights on our golf cart", among other things, finally resulted in a heated discussion with the poor manager sent over to discuss the situation.

The end result is that we are on eggshells, waiting for JR to swoop in with some manufactured offense, causing us to stand our ground once more.

If I had the option, I would go somewhere else with my $135/night. Judging from the high vacancy rate in peak vacation season, I'm guessing other families have decided the same.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmusementParkNuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here many times and love it. It's always full of kids. October is an awesome time to go because almost every weekend they do Halloween stuff. There is one weekend that they don't so make sure you go at the right time. Also make sure you make reservations early especially for holidays an October. You and your kids will love this place!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTrails4U2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This was our 1st family "camping" trip; although, not sure how much one would consider staying in a cabin as "camping". Regardless, we had a blast! We stayed last summer (July 3rd-7th) in the comfort cabins (#66) up near the Yogi Bear theater. The cabins were perfectly spaced out, super clean, and if you're looking for a little privacy, these are the cabins for you. Unlike the comfort cabins located near the jumping pillow and playground, the ones near the theater (in my opinion) are a little more private and set apart from the main activity areas. On occassion, the theater will hold activities (tshirt tie dye & candy bar bingo) but it never lasts more than two hours tops. Our kids (5 and 2) loved the volleyball nets (not as far as it looks on map) and when an occassional game wasn't being played, several kids used it as one giant sandbox. It was nice to sit on the covered porch and see them playing in the sand....not too close and not too far. Just make sure to bring sand toys. If not, there's a Super Walmart about 10 minutes down the road for all your camping needs. Noise was never an issue for us and we had a cabin right next to the theater. If you want more excitement and/or want to be able to keep your eyes on the little ones, perhaps going for the comfort cabins near the main activity areas would be a better choice. Staff was awesome, everyone was very helpful and took time answering any questions that my husband or I had. My son especially enjoyed the waterslide, no lines which was really nice. If you're interested in a golf cart I would suggest reserving one in advance since it seemed tons of people were using them. Laser tag was a bit of a walk (tucked away and up a small hill past the Skyline View Cabins) so using a golf cart came in handy in steamy July heat. Activities for the children are scheduled on the hour almost every hour of each day including themed weeks (i.e. candy cane relays, tshirt tie dye, etc.) The beds aren't very comfy though so try to bring extra padding if you can. A/C ran well, no issues at all. Flies were a bit much but you tend to expect that and other nuisances when you're camping. I lightly sprayed bug spray on the inside floors a few times (prior to leaving for a few hours) and the problem went away for most of the time we stayed. Free WiFi if you're a techy. Nearby is Luray Caverns if you're interested in leaving the park for a bit. All-in-all, I have not a single negative thing to say about this park. Our family had a ton of fun and really enjoyed the scenery.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrandyW4404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
4.1 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,021 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
4 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,334 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
141 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Luray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Luray

Address: 2250 US Hwy 211 East, Luray, VA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Price Range: $37 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amongst the picturesque Blue Ridge Mountains, Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park™ in LURAY, VIRGINIA offers an inspiring CAMPING EXPERIENCE the whole family will enjoy. Our 73 SCENIC acres are situated just down the road from the popular LURAY CAVERNS™ and breathtaking SHENANDOAH NATIONAL PARK – offering day trip options for those wanting to explore our surrounding areas. When our campers aren’t busy swimming and splashing at Yogi Bear’s Water Zone & Splash Pad or zooming down our BRAND-NEW WATER SLIDES (COMING SUMMER 2018), they can enjoy the 18-hole MINI GOLF COURSE, gem mining experience, arcade, PEDAL BOATS, fishing pond, jumping pillows, LAZER TAG, outdoor movie theater, sports facilities, playgrounds, and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yogi Bear Jellystone Park Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing