We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just a family resaurant”

Uncle Buck's Family Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 38 Restaurants in Luray
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just a family resaurant”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were driving through the area and stopped there for lunch. Server was nice but slow. I ordered breakfast for lunch. Since the place serves breakfast all day long, I was excited to get if not an awesome, at least a warm breakfast. What I got was a cold plate. My eggs were cold, bacon dried up, my grits were cold and lumpy, butter just sat on top of it without melting. Doesn't the server know when they are putting a cold break fast plate in front of their customer? Bad experience. Would not recommend the place to anyone!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hyonsuk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    230
    141
    53
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thanks for Local Fare”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

A local restaurant with a decent menu. Not particularly friendly - just matter of fact service. Horse theme. OK food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IAKoalaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinnertime after being on the road for 10 hours”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We arrived at the restaurant after checking into our hotel and ordered dinner. The food was a good value for the price...generous portion sizes. The food was a little greasy, but you kind of expect that with an establishment like this. My wife ordered pasta....and what came out was a layer of mozzarella cheese melted over the pasta. I'm talking at least 1/4" thick of cheese on top! A little much for our tastes. We might have returned for breakfast, but they don't have turkey bacon/sausage on their menu...just pork products.

The waitress did kindly steer us to another hotel as the one we had checked into was unacceptable to us.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast - ALL DAY LONG”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

after a long night of thunder storms and a lot of rain, the last thing I wanted to do this morning was cook breakfast in the campground so we loaded up the car and headed to Uncle Bucks. A family of 5 ate a big breakfast for <$30. The food was great and the atmosphere comforting. The wait was a little long but it was Sunday morning and they were busy. Our waitress was attentive and took great care of us. I highly recommend this stop for breakfast…. we'll be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our 1st Luray Dining”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The service was good and the food was ok. My son and I both had chicken which was delicious; our side items were average. Many of the locals frequent there though so it's a great place to meet Luray town people to learn about the neat places to visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darnella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Buck's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Buck's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing