We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun on the Shenandoah River” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shenandoah River Outfitters, Inc.

Shenandoah River Outfitters, Inc.
Ranked #8 of 12 Outdoor Activities in Luray
Attraction details
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun on the Shenandoah River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We went tubing down the river. $22 tube rental per person and $6 for a cooler tube. The service was friendly and helpful. We gathered at the office and then boarded busses to our different launch points. The river was beautiful and the scenery was fantastic. The water was clear and the rapids were fun. Would definitely do again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    4
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tubing down the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great Trip. The check in was fast, the bus ride to the drop off point was fun, staff were friendly and happy. The river was clean and clear, the ride was relaxing and the rapids were great fun! would recommend this for sure!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tjred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
810 reviews
234 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“A beautiful way to see this BEAUTIFUL river!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have always loved being in the Shenandoah valley and seeing the river and decided to trying kayaking on it recently. We were fortunate to get GREAT weather day, not too hot nor cold. The water level was perfect to not get stuck on rocks or anything. Water temp was also very nice for getting in.

The Shenandoah River Outfitters staff were GREAT too! Very hospitable and answered questions we called about prior to getting there, as well as being very informative while checking in. The process to check-in and pay went VERY smooth and is efficient and quick. Just a 10min video of what to do/not to do on the water and you're all set!

The 3 kayaks we got were very well-maintained and we enjoyed our 8 mile journey on the river.

They offer decent, clean facilities at their place to use, clean yourself up, etc. They also sell any accessories you might need (and for a good price), like water shoes.

Take advantage of their mid-week special of $30 per kayak... it's a GREAT deal! Just be there by 11AM to get in on it!

We took a 13 y/o with us and he had no problems with navigating the water. This was his first trip and he did quite well.

We look forward to doing it again - SOON!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Signed up for beginner whitewater trip. Was taken to the flatwater section. After trip, I confirmed that we were on the wrong section. The person at the desk said they did not hear me saw whitewater. OK, fine. But at least refund me $12 difference in trip fee. No, they couldn't do that. Because I didn't sign up for that trip. Bear in mind, they have a sign that says before 11:00am, the trip we were on was only $44. However, since I didn't specifically ask for the special, they couldn't refund the money. It was only $12 and my SA enjoyed the trip, so I walked out a little bewildered.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Schichl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place for Outdoor Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This past weekend, I went tent camping with some friends at Shenandoah River Outfitters. It is a very accommodating campground with wooded camp sites, and a bathhouse/bathrooms that are close to all sites. We planned to experience the lazy river but the trip was canceled due to excessively high and fast water. Next time!!! The fees charged for camping and the tubing were very reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KThom_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shenandoah River Outfitters, Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Shenandoah River Outfitters, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing