We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The room was way below expectations. The "antique" room was furnished with very worn furniture that can best be described as second hand. It was the kind of furniture that you would find in a Salvation Army Store or low end consignment shop. The room had a musty smell that was slightly hidden behind cleaning chemicals. But unfortunately, those same cleaning materials must not have been utilized in the bathroom where the tub was etched with mold. No one wanted to shower in the bathroom!! Everything about the room was outdated and funky. Don't stay there!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pleffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 894 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2010

The motel from outside looks very nice. The lobby is also very nice, and that is about it.
Our room 105 was on 1st fl. near the lobby. The drapes had holes and the room had a strange odor. Needs remodeling desperately. The bathroom floor had dirt 2" thick in the corners. Was supposed to be no smoking and the tub had burn mark. Very small room and not very clean. Frige was OK. to cool water and soda.
After check in early in the day we went to Caverns which is very close and stayed away as long as we could. Arrived back about 9p.m. and was shocked that almost all rooms were taken. It is the closest to the Skyline drive and I guess that is why they can fill up.
The breakfast was terrible. Three dry cerals, apples, no juice because the machine had been broken the week before. Coffee was very weak and overheard some people complaining about the breakfast as a whole. There were some muffins and bread that you could toast. Extremely disappointed in the place. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhiladelphiaChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Reserved a double bed room, non-smoking. What we got was a smoking room that had been heavily treated with air freshener. The door didn't have the non-smoking sign that many others did and I've traveled enough to know a room that's been treated. Couldn't handle the smell so I asked for another room. The manager said he thought I was mistaken as the hotel is all non-smoking. Huh?? Did you tell the guests that? I checked the website. It says "non-smoking rooms available". Whatever. No more double bed rooms available so I took a room that had a king bed with sofabed. We were traveling with children. The room was too small for the sofabed to open. I had to push the furniture around to make room for it to open. It was tight, and both beds had to be climbed across to enter and exit, but we made it work. Big sign in the lobby said "no pets". We saw at least 3 in various rooms. Website said pets allowed. So again, what's up with that?? We passed several door room number signs being held on with scotch tape. Hmmm. Wonder what else is being held together with tape? The kids pool was closed (and obviously had been for a while) with no indication of opening anytime soon. Main pool was a good size, but had only 2 tables and maybe 8 chairs out there total. Breakfast was good. They have a separate room to eat in. Bummer was the coffee pots were emptied at 10am and shut off for the day. In summary, the place was OK. Nothing more, nothing less. Needs to get its facts straight with the website though.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1972Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Took my family on a trip to Shenandoah Valley to visit Luray Caverns mid- July. Decided to book a night's stay at Days Inn Luray due to proximity to the caverns and price.
The good:
- Cheap hotel stay. Total price was $81.30 for one night including tax. It was tight with a roll-in bed but our family of 5 fit in ok.
- Room has a TV, microwave and a small fridge.
- There was a pretty good sized pool which quickly filled up towards early evening when everyone started to check in from the caverns.
- It has a mini-golf course so if the kids are bored, they could pass their time there for $3 per person.
The bad:
- There were crawly bugs in the room. One was floating on the toilet when we checked in.
- Speaking of toilets, the chain on flapper valve broke sometime in the morning and since we're checking out in a couple of hours, we decided to just stick our hand on the tank to lift the flapper valve manually in order to flush. We notified the front desk about this during check out.
- The carpets were dirty and had a moist, moldy smell. Recommend wear shoes or slippers and not walk barefoot on carpet.
- The bed covers looked and smelled dirty.

I suppose it you're looking for a cheap place to just crash for the night then run, then this is the place for you as long as you don't mind crawly bugs and dirty bed covers and carpets. Next time we visit this area, will look for another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E9erX30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I put together our 2010 family reunion. I needed 12 rooms for eight families outside of the DC metro area. I decided on Luray, because it offered mountain hikes, river rafting, scenic drives, cool temperatures, caverns, etc. I chose the Days Inn in Luray because of their amenities. The offered wifi, a continental breakfast, a pool, miniature golf, and coin-operated laundry machines for a very reasonable price. The rooms could use some updating, but they were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

The hotel is okay, we chose this because of location, which is near the Shenandoah National Park. We're actually contemplating on coming back if we ever want to go back to Shenandoah. But, very disappointing on how they handled our car accident situation. We're a victim of hit and run in their parking lot, the same night (Wed) it happened, we reported it right away to the person in charge, and we were told that the manager wasn't in and wouldn't be back until Sun, but they'll try their best to have someone review the camera. We followed up on Mon or Tue, manager wasn't in, so left a voicemail, but this manager didn't call us back. So, we called again today (Fri), finally talked to the manager, but only to be told that they wouldn't be able to review back the tape if the incident had happened past 7 days. Frustrating right, we're not actually asking for much, but we only want to find the one responsible. On top of this, to placate us, they even said that even if they were able to review the camera (police officer included) they wouldn't be able to identify the car, or even get a tag (license plate), so what's the use of that camera there, and we were only asking that they should have at least tried. So the bottomline, even if we have insurance, we're still paying $500 out of pocket because the one responsible got away, despite all our efforts, reporting it immediately to the person-in-charge in the hotel, reporting it to the police the following morning, and our follow-ups after that. They had given up even before they tried, citing that even if there's a camera, they wouldn't be able to identify the car that hit our car. VERY FRUSTRATING, VERY DISAPPOINTING INDEED!!
Wouldn't go back anymore, poor customer service!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank RizaCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We checked in on a Friday and I found dead coachroaches in the bathroom. I also killed two spiders and myriad ants. I called the front desk on my way to a rehearsal dinner and was told that no other rooms were available at that time. I asked the desk to get me into the next available king non-smoking room, but to please vacuum the dead bugs in the bathroom in the meantime. They promised to do so, but when we returned late that night, only ONE of the five dead bugs had been cleaned. Talk about shoddy work! The room smelled of stale smoke (it was supposed to be non-smoking) and it just wasn't clean. The bed was clean and quite comfortable, however, and we got a new room the next day. The new room (upstairs) was MUCH better, though we did have to contend with some live black flying beetles, which apparently are on ongoing problem due to the fact that the motel is next to a cornfield. I also had an issue with the curtain in both rooms; they did not filter out the daylight or the nighttime exterior lights effectively.

On the plus side (my short list), the motel was very quiet and the location is extremely convenient for visitors. The view of the mountain was pretty. The pool was clean and fun for kids and the breakfast was better than I expected - except for the coffee, which was extremely weak.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peej8799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
1.2 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#5 of 9 in Luray
140 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,017 reviews
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
2.4 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
58 reviews
13.7 mi away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Luray Shenandoah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Luray Shenandoah

Address: 138 Whispering Hill Road, Luray, VA 22835-4030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range: $67 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Luray Shenandoah 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn-Luray is located 7 miles west of Shenandoah National Park and 3 miles east of Luray Caverns. We have beautiful mountain views from most rooms. We have Standard rooms, Jetted Tub rooms and Suites available. We are pet friendly (standard rooms only) $15.80 per pet per night extra (maximum 2 pets). Our front desk is open 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Luray Shenandoah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah Hotel Luray
Luray Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing