We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful collection!”

The Car and Carriage Caravan Museum
Ranked #3 of 30 things to do in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at Luray Caverns, this specialty museum features rare antique autos.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful collection!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

My guy friend enjoyed the museum a lot! I'm not very into cars, but the museum has a vast collection of old cars in great conditions even I enjoyed it. The museum isn't very large, but it packs a lot of information and cars in the short length. I highly recommend walking through, even if you don't like car history. Admission to the car museum is included when you buy a ticket to Luray. So why not?

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank kdirosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    228
    67
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Powhatan, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Walk through automative Past”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Enjoyed that you could take your time looking at each auto and could easily have any questions answered.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Exhibits-Small Area”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The amount of various modes of transport that they have squeezed into this area is almost unbelievable. Most are in pristine condition and well looked after, however as they are all packed so close together it is easy to miss items and as the walkways are narrow stopping to browse can cause a jam.With some unique items on show it is still worth a visit, especially Valentino's car.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank phil52_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Included with Caverns”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was included with our trip through the Luray Caverns. It was short enough that my 7 year old could stay interested, but long enough that my husband enjoyed the walk through history. We enjoyed this thoroughly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I wasn't expecting much since its a small museum but they have some gorgeous old cars and carriages. Well worth visiting!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank denise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Car and Carriage Caravan Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Car and Carriage Caravan Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing