We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like Bates hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Luray Caverns Motel East
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I can honestly say this is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. The place smells awful. I was fooled by some nice reviews - don't make the same mistake. If we had not been so tired from driving we would have checked out immediately. The place is dark and you walk into part of the bathroom when you open the door. The scenery off the back balcony was nice - but the balcony was covered in some black goo. I didn't even think about sitting in those chairs. The coffee maker was broken also.I mentioned this to the women at checkout and she said there is nothing she can do about any complaints. The Luray Caverns are worth seeing - but get back on the road and keep driving.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ferntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 110 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

we had the large cabin with the king bed and we loved it it was nice and very private ! staff was extremly nice ! the other cabins were very cute as well would be a perfect spot to stop for a couple or with kids !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yokel318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Omg we were in a room infested with huge spiders everywhere...the room was very musky smelling...had to park in from a d walk thru a field to get to our room
...no parking lot for back rooms! No ice machines...its 1 of the worse motels I have ever seen..only got 6 channels on tv and it was like a recording same thing over and over...no microwaves...I still shiver. Please go elsewhere to stay if visiting the caverns...better to drive a little further than not sleep a live a nightmare. REBA.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mortalangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My brother in Richmond bought the package cavern-hotel deal, and this was not a pleasant place--serious remodeling or tear-down needed. The lower level rooms that are in the back (not road side) were a one-night-turn-out-the-lights-quick kind of room. Cement block walls covered with wallcovering that shows the blocks underneath, poor lighting, musty smelling, smokers there before us, cannot shut off the outside lights at night, shabby door. Neglected and rundown. I'm a camper, frugal, and not a complainer. However, this place needs serious work.
One surprise: the carillion bell tower across the street with a lovely concert at 8 pm. We sat in the park under the bell tower.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank MNvisitor_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Stayed here Thursday Sept 30th thru Sunday Oct 3rd. We stayed here with a group of guys to golf at The Caverns Country Club. If you are looking for a place to lay your head, this might work, do not expect much else. It rained hard there our first day and you could tell facility maintenance was not a top priority. The gutters were so clogged there were waterfalls off of the roof everywhere, this continued into the night where the "falls" outside our room made it impossible to sleep. I hope this place has well water, because you need run the shower for at least 12 minutes before you get anything that would be considered hot water. Like I started with, it served it's purpose for a bunch of guys playing 36 holes a day needing a place to crash. If you are looking for romance, luxury, or even comfort, forget about it. Do not expect to get any restfull sleep, beds are the worst I have ever encountered. They boasted "free in room wifi" well not really, they had free wifi but it would only connect if you were in the lobby. Some good points, it is directly adjacent to the entrance to Luray Caverns, the golf course is only a mile 1/2 away and the golf packages that they offer are very good deals, just down the street is a little cafe inside the Best Western that had good service a nd good food for breakfast, about 8 miles west on 211 is Danny's Steak House, awesome steaks, right up there with Shula's or Morton's

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluewatergolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We had the most exellent time. The staff at the motel awesome. Cindy and Amanda were the friendliest people we had ever met and made are stay very enjoyable. They treated us like family. We will be returning real soon. Keep up the good work!!!!
Oh, cornholing is not what you think. Even the locals were awesome and we had a BLAST!

The Jersey Guy (larry)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lnl368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

What a fun time we had at the Motel East. The front desk staff, Cindy & Amanda, were so personable and helpful and really made our stay at the motel pleasant and enjoyable. We had quite a few laughs with these two lots of friendly waves from the drive up window. The motel is older, but our room was nice & big and the view out the back off the balcony was breathtaking. Very clean. The staff was definitely the best part of our stay at the motel though! Loved the town of Luray especially Uncle Buck's, and the locals are very friendly.

The Jersey Girl (Karen)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JerseyGirlK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
0.6 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,013 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luray Caverns Motel East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luray Caverns Motel East

Address: 831 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1032
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range: $64 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Luray Caverns Motel East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luray Caverns Motel East Hotel Luray
Luray Caverns Hotel East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing