We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but just an Okay place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Clean, but just an Okay place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Well located to Sequoia NP and a great place if you just want a place to sleep. Do not expect much, though it was clean. The place is an older motel, which they have made some upgrades. The bed is cheap hotel bed: if one person turns over, the other person feels it. The staff were kind to turn on the air conditioning prior to arrival. With single panel windows for the hotel room and 90+ degrees outside, it was necessary.

At the registration desk, they did have menus from the local restaurants along with Park information.

They do have a pool, though we did not use it, it looks like it is well maintained.

Breakfast was included, which was simple: waffles (expect a line to wait to make them), cereal, hard boiled eggs, muffins, coffee, and juice. Nothing outstanding, but did the trick. The breakfast room was small, so expect to wait for a table, sit outside, or bring it back to your room. My biggest complaint is they used all non-recycleable Styrofoam plates, bowls, and cups along with disposable plastic dinning utensils for breakfast. In an age that is sensitive to the environmental waste and an establishment supporting the National park, I would expect more environmentally conscience decisions.

With that the soap, shampoo, and conditioners offered in the rooms were organic. I would give them that! :-)

Room Tip: We had room 39, which was on the second floor at the end. It was excluded from the other rooms. Bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    84
    109
    80
    98
See reviews for
125
173
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Looking for an Okay place to stay that is 6 miles to Sequoia Park. The place is older. Okay kept. Good price compared to those further away. Takes pets. Clean. We had two bedrooms, neither remote worked and not many channels. But, we weren't there to watch tv.Good air conditioner. Nice area to get out and walk. Area of a small park out front with cooking grills and tables. The pool and hot tub, however, were very dirty. I would not get in, when you can see dirt and mold around the edge and can't see through the water. The breakfast said buffet on line. No, it is coffee and Danish. So for a place to sleep, shower and go on, I would say yes. To stay a few days, no.

Room Tip: ask to see room and sit on beds first before taking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darmar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
162 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The busy holiday weekend was the only reason we stayed here as the other hotels were all booked. We would not stay here again. The first night we could only receive 2 channels on the old-style TV (TNT & CNN only!) My husband re-programmed it himself, resulting in only 11 mostly lame channels (still no ABC or NBC.) So do not believe their claim that they have cable TV when they don’t even offer all the major networks. The shower curtain was disgusting and the water temperature kept changing based on usage from other rooms. Getting scalded and then frozen is tortuous and completely unacceptable. The breakfast offerings were average but the coffee was horrible. For some reason, the bar soap and plastic cups were not replenished daily. The internet connection wasn’t the best but it was acceptable. On the positive side, the bed was comfortable, the room was spacious and fairly clean (but please clean off the cobwebs from the bathroom window so it is possible to see outside), and it had fridge & microwave & coffee pot (a broken one but was promptly replaced when I requested.) Three Rivers is further from the National Park than I thought, due to slow-going winding curvy roads. Definitely try to stay inside the park if at all possible (which it wasn’t for us.)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patronking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Three Rivers hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

"Our stay was" Excellent" still remember like it was yesterday newly weds". We have grown thru the years and continuing to move forward". Being up in the mountains and enclosed in our spacious room. Weather was perfect and the ambience". Swimming pool was great".

Room Tip: "Being up in the hills not everything is at your convenience". The basics food, rest rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genuine516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Quebec
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

PROS:
rooms were clean and nice size
pet friendly (15$ per night)
close to sequoia national park
TV has about 15 channels
laundry on site

CONS:
wifi didn't work at all
rooms look like they need renovation
receptionist had a bit of an attitude at times
water pressure in shower sucked (if you have long hair, it takes FOREVER to wash your hair)
window in bathroom looked like it had paint splattered on it on the outside

overall the room was good enough to sleep in, but if you need internet to do research, forget about it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kloup91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Why I don’t like this place:

1. The room phone does not work. I use my cell phone to call the office; three times but nobody answers.

2. Only 3 out of 5 lights work. I offer to replace the light bulb if they can give me some. They ignore my help.

3. Water leaks from the room above, they just come and clean the floor, no carpet cleaning, not even offer to switch the room for me.

4. The mattress was so OLD and LUMPY. It must be more than 20 years old.

5. The breakfast includes boiled eggs but they only bring out a dozen at a time for 20 guesses at least in the room. They are gone fast since each person takes 2 eggs. We have to wait for 15 minutes for another batch but we are not quick enough to get in line, eggs are gone again so we leave. I think they intentionally bring the eggs out slowly and a dozen egg at a time because I witness this every day I stay there.

6. We move to Comfort Inn, one mile closer to the park for the same room rate. I would recommend this hotel over WHL due to its cleanliness and hot breakfast served with plenty of eggs, sausages and bacons.

With all these negatives, I would highly commend the attitude and the service rendered by the lady who serves breakfast. She is very kind and works hard.

Room Tip: Western Holiday Lodge, 6 mile from the park, $74.99/night. There is a new Comfort Inn, 5 miles from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vnhacbao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

After a long day of hitting the national parks, this place is perfect. The location is just down the hill from Sequoia National Park in Three Rivers (with restaurants nearby). It has a pool, WiFi, fridge and microwave in the room. My room was clean and surprisingly roomy for a single Queen. The property is very well kept. I found it through AAA, and not sure why it has negative reviews on here. I'm not too picky, just need a clean, affordable room with working internet and a good night's sleep, and this place does not disappoint.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StacetheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
3.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
16.5 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
22.6 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
14.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Property: Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
Address: 40105 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9745
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Holiday Lodge 3 Rivers
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Western Holiday Three Rivers
Western Holiday Hotel Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing