We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent in Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistent in Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have been to many Western hotels in toronto and out side of Canada, they are the best hotel that I have been to, the service is the same where ever you go. they are very polite, the rooms are very very clean and comfortable, the food at the restaurtant is great. You don't even have to leave the hotel for anything, they have everything there.

I book the hotel at least twice a year in toronto

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but the ones that we like is the ones closer to the stair case only becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philomena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    88
    113
    89
    105
See reviews for
131
187
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Room was ok for that price, clean but the bed was a bit too old. Installations around are nice (bbq, playground, pool).
Breakfast is surprising with much more choice then other places I went at that price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We thank you for your kind words and also thank you for bringing this problem to our attention. We will get right on it! We thank you kindly and hope you have a wonderful day!
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

stayed 3 nights in sept 2013. classical motel, close to a major road, very easy to reach by car. Three rivers is very near to the Sequoia Park entrance, and quite a charming lonely village at the Sierra foothills. the room was big, comfortable and clean, with fridge and microwave, and enough silent. breakfast is ok. only two problems:the air conditioner is very noisy, and the toilet in my room was not vetilated :-( .suggested!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antpiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
The Western Holiday Lodge thanks you for you kinda words about our hotel and we also thank you for your few words of advice. We will take them into consideration and work on them as best we can to further accommodate our future guests. Again we thank you very much. Have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in the Western Holiday Lodge on the way to Santa Barbara and just needed a place to stay and had booked in advance. Got upgraded to a suite which was nice unfortunately our other traveller got a standard room in spite of us making just one booking, which was a bit awkward. The room was massive but dated and in need of an update, however clean and the shower powerful. Had a small balcony where we had takeout pizzas and a few G&Ts which was nice touch. Good A/C in our room but our friend told us that his switched off at around midnight leaving his room very hot. Breakfast was basic but in line with what we got at other motels. I think the downside of this motel is that the owners were very indifferent and to be honest not very friendly. All of the other places we stayed on our road trip even at the cheap Motel 6 staff were really friendly and welcoming. At the Western Holiday Lodge it seemed they just could not be bothered and just is not good enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolfbusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
All of us here at the Western Holiday Lodge thank you for your kind words about our hotel as well as your generous advise. It is understandable that you enjoyed your stay slightly better than your friend as you were in a suite and he a standard room. However we understand that these problems need to be addressed and we are doing everything we can to make your stay at the Western Holiday Lodge the best it can be. Again we thank you very kindly and hope you have a joyful day.
sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend when we visiting Sequoia National Park. The location is good -- only a short drive from the park's entrance -- and they were one of the few lodges in the area that still had rooms available for our spur-of-the-moment trip.

I should have been tipped off that something was wrong when I noticed blood on my pillow when I got up in the morning. I certainly hadn't seen it there the night before, and I wasn't aware of any cuts on my face. But we were excited to get going with the day, which was spent on a very pleasant hike in the park.

The second night, I didn't see any blood, and I chalked up the experience to the fact that the place is, after all, pretty grungy. We had a good rate ($90 / night) so I didn't register a complaint. Then, a couple days after we returned home, my husband and I both started noticing what looked like bites all over our bodies. He was reacting worse than me. The distribution was on places that would have touched a bed, and his immediate thought was "bedbugs." We tore apart our bed at home, and didn't find anything.

Then he did some research and found out that the appearance of bedbug bites can often be delayed by several days. A little more research turned up the fact that we weren't the first travelers to notice bedbugs at the Western Holiday Lodge. We put two and two together with the appearance of blood on my pillow, and we're 99% sure that we were bitten up pretty badly while staying at the Lodge. (If you squish the bug while it's biting, it will ooze blood onto a pillow or sheets.)

We've never been bitten by bedbugs before, so we didn't think to pull up the mattress and look for the actual bugs. Others have done this as the Western Holiday Lodge, and there is actually photographic evidence if you look through the Traveler Photos.

In short, don't stay here if you prefer not to be bitten by bedbugs, and hope not to take bedbugs home with you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We at The Western Holiday Lodge would like to apologize for your unpleasant stay at our hotel. however to address your issue specifically we have to look at all of the factors. In this case while you think bed bug is the answer there are many other things that could have caused your problem for example, poison oak. Poison oak is very common in our National Park area and and does not appear until several day later and spreads very easily. Another cause may have been, due to the fact that you are out in the county, many other various types of bugs. Being out in the country it is very common that bugs will attach themselves to you and hitch a ride home with you so to speak. However we are not ignoring your concerns. We are doing what we can and looking into this bed bug issue, as we don't want this to happen to our future guests. We thank you very kindly for bringing this to our attention and we hope that this has brought you knowledge and insight as to what may have happened. Thank you and have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Three Rivers hotels

Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in June 2013 and took two rooms. The beds, linens, & towels were clean. But the rest of the room and the exterior walkways all look like they've needed a coat of paint and new carpet for years. The rooms were very expensive for what you get, but I think that's the order of the day in Three Rivers (location location location!) The owners know they'll be able to be close to full even without maintenance or improvements. Really felt like a rip-off. The rooms were, at least, quiet except for the drone of A/C.
The pool area was grungy. They have a tiny spa, but only heat it up when requested, so don't expect it to be hot unless you've asked and then reminded them a couple of times. Reception desk service was OK. Breakfast was beyond bleak (as in "stocking up at Costco would improve it").
There were hundreds of birds who'd nested under the eaves of the stairwells and walkways, which was kind of charming.
I hope to not have to stay in Three Rivers again, but will definitely avoid this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Bryan, We at the Western Holiday Lodge thank you for your generous advise. We will take all of your issue into consideration in hope to better accommodate our future guests. We also would like to apologize for your unpleasant stay at our hotel however please do understand that we have made very many improvements and are working hard everyday to better accommodate our guests. Again we thank you very kindly and hope you have a charming day.
sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Room (3) - The place is beautiful but the motel is divided into two blocks: an old plant and a new one. We were in the old one: big rooms but not very clean. / Services (4,5) - The Indian personnel is very gentle. The breakfast was plentiful but not very rich. / Location (3,5) - In this valley you need a car to get everything. The closest mexican restaurant is good, even if not too clean. [1-6 scale]

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripevangelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We at the Western Holiday Lodge thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We will take your few words of advise into consideration in hopes of making our hotel the best in can be.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
0.5 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
3.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
19.5 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
14.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
22.6 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Property: Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
Address: 40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Holiday Lodge 3 Rivers
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Western Holiday Three Rivers
Western Holiday Hotel Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing