We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Grungy and dated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Grungy and dated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in June 2013 and took two rooms. The beds, linens, & towels were clean. But the rest of the room and the exterior walkways all look like they've needed a coat of paint and new carpet for years. The rooms were very expensive for what you get, but I think that's the order of the day in Three Rivers (location location location!) The owners know they'll be able to be close to full even without maintenance or improvements. Really felt like a rip-off. The rooms were, at least, quiet except for the drone of A/C.
The pool area was grungy. They have a tiny spa, but only heat it up when requested, so don't expect it to be hot unless you've asked and then reminded them a couple of times. Reception desk service was OK. Breakfast was beyond bleak (as in "stocking up at Costco would improve it").
There were hundreds of birds who'd nested under the eaves of the stairwells and walkways, which was kind of charming.
I hope to not have to stay in Three Rivers again, but will definitely avoid this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Bryan, We at the Western Holiday Lodge thank you for your generous advise. We will take all of your issue into consideration in hope to better accommodate our future guests. We also would like to apologize for your unpleasant stay at our hotel however please do understand that we have made very many improvements and are working hard everyday to better accommodate our guests. Again we thank you very kindly and hope you have a charming day.
sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    86
    110
    83
    100
See reviews for
127
175
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Room (3) - The place is beautiful but the motel is divided into two blocks: an old plant and a new one. We were in the old one: big rooms but not very clean. / Services (4,5) - The Indian personnel is very gentle. The breakfast was plentiful but not very rich. / Location (3,5) - In this valley you need a car to get everything. The closest mexican restaurant is good, even if not too clean. [1-6 scale]

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripevangelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We at the Western Holiday Lodge thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We will take your few words of advise into consideration in hopes of making our hotel the best in can be.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Friendly staff, near to amenities, easy road access, safe environment, nice little swimming pool, adequate breakfast, clean rooms with bath tub in bathrooms. I would definitely recommend this place for people visit the National Park. Located near to many nature attractions.

Room Tip: If you are four people going together, then you stay will end up being very cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VarunRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We at the Western Holiday lodge are more than happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We can only hope the all of our guests feel the same way that you do. We wish you good fortune on your future endeavors and have a beautiful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was clearly the worst deal we had in our trip. The place is nice, about 10 minutes from the start of the Sequoia National Park after which you have to drive for about 50 minutes to get to see the sequoia. The hotel is not what you would expect paying about 170$ !! You should not pay more than 100$ max: not well maintained and old. The picture you get on the site is NOT the room you get for $170: it has no balcony, a badly looking and maintained bathroom and old accessories. The breakfast is served only until 9:00 AM and therefore, even if the personal is friendly, a rate of 170$ is outrageous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We at the Western Holiday Lodge would like to apologize for your unpleasant stay at our hotel. and we thank you kindly for your generous advise and will take your issues into consideration in order to make our hotel the best in can be. We thank you again and hope you have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Three Rivers hotels

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

To be honest I don't quite understand the negative reviews on here. Perhaps the older part of the motel is not in good shape? We arrived late without a reservation, having had a booking instead many miles away where we weren't going to get that night. When i explained our problem the very pleasant lady on reception offered us a room in the newer building and dropped the price by $20. The room was large, very nicely furnished, had a fireplace and its own patio with table and chairs to the back. The bathroom wasn't the most modern but all was very clean. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and was being replenished all the time with a smile. We didn't use the pool, but it was being cleaned first thing in the morning. Lots of children in the playground made for a joyful scene. I would very much recommend this lodge, but perhaps ask for a room in the new part?

Room Tip: If you go into Sequoia National Park, take your time and don't underestimate how long it takes t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Puddy2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a kind review. We all hope to see you back at our hotel the next time you are in Three Rivers. Thank you again and we hope you have a beautiful day.
sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Despite some of the comments from other trip advisor entries we booked a room for a visit to Sequoia National Forest. We had a room with two beds. It was clean and functional with all the facilities I would expect for the price. Staff were friendly and polite and pool and grounds were in good shape. Compared to some hotels costing a lot more this hotel was good value and perfect for a one night stop-over. It's location was perfect for our needs being only a short drive to the entrance to the sequoia park entrance (though the Sequoia forest was an additional one hour drive from the park entrance)- this made three rivers an even more appropriate starting point for the trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We here at the Western Holiday Lodge are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in the beautiful National Park. We you like to thank you kindly for taking your time to write such a pleasant review. We hope to see you again soon. Have a wonderful day.
sincerely ,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

It's close to the entrance to Sequoia National Park but still 1 hour from the main parts of the park. The hotel appears a little run-down but the room was clean and large enough for 3 adults. The beds need replacing and were not terribly comfortable. It was not worth the money we paid for accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHolidayLodge, Manager at Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Western Holiday Lodge. We appreciate your taking the time to write and hope you will accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. We will take your issues into consideration and will take steps to ensure that the problems you experienced do not happen again. We appreciate your time and hope you will stay with us at the Western Holiday Lodge the next time you are in Three Rivers. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one. \
Sincerely,
Western Holiday Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
3.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
16.5 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
14.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
22.6 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Property: Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
Address: 40105 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9745
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Holiday Lodge 3 Rivers
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Western Holiday Three Rivers
Western Holiday Hotel Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing