We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Reviewed December 3, 2006

Stayed at this motel for 2 nights in late October. (At the time of our stay, this hotel was a Holiday Inn Express so some things may have changed since the change to it being a Comfort Inn.)

The rooms are very good with a Kingsize bed, table and chair, 28" TV, Iron and Ironing board etc.

The sink (faucet) is seperate to the toilet and shower which I always find helps speed up getting ready in a morning!

The hotel has laundry facilities, which I found very handy given that we were on a 3 week long trip - you can purchase small packs of detergent and softner from the reception desk.

Internet access is free in the lobby, however it is restricted to 15 minutes (although I don't think anybody would mind if you were on longer, providing nobody else was waiting.)

Breakfast was the usual Holiday Inn Express Start continental breakfast, with self-serve cereal, toast, waffles, bagels, pastries and coffee. Not sure how breakfast will measure up now this is a Comfort Inn though.

The location is great, just across the road from a Mexican restaurant and a Pizza Factory, and the Sequoia national park entrance is just a 20 minute drive from here.

Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sonofagunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,213)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2006

We stayed for three nights. It is very close to Sequoia National Park. The room was adequate for a couple with a toddler. There was no mini refrigerator to store milk but there is a market just accross the hotel. Three Rivers is a very small town no fast food joint. The closest bigger city is Visalia which is about half an hour drive. And it seems to be the newest hotel in Three Rivers, CA. Make sure you try to Pizza also accross the street. The Post office being nearby is also an added plus.

The hotel service is adequate but the staff is not very friendly. There were no good morning or come back again or welcome to the hotel. The staff doesn't seem to be approachable and there are no brochures visible for the National Park.

There is a computer to access your e-mail in the lobby for 15 minutes maximum but no internet in the rooms.

The doors are a little thin. The stay was event less except Saturday evening or Sunday very early morning. Which seems to be drunks outside our hotel room and we heard the whole conversation. And also on Sunday morning motorcyles warming up their engine for about 15minutes. You can also hear the footsteps above you.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank trip56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2006

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights while visiting Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. The room was very nice - clean and comfortable. We paid extra to have a microwave and frig in the room and there was a problem with the microwave. BUT they changed it out after I called about it. There was a problem with the replacement also, but my husband found out that the problem was with the top outlet and was able to get the microwave to work. MOST IMPORTANTLY though is that they were very fair and accommodating and knocked off the extra charges entirely from our bill (and we don't often encounter that "going the extra mile" bit while traveling.)

The only "annoying" thing about the room - and I think I read this in another review of this hotel-- is that the bathroom door was on special hinges and it sounded just like a squeaky screen door every time it was opened/closed. Other than that though - the room was great; we would recommend it; and would defnitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TXTravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2006

This was the 3rd Holiday Inn Express we booked on our trip to Yosemite. We stayed for 1 night on 10/11/06. Construction in Sequoia cost us several hours of travel so we arrived at this hotel after dark. It seemed crowded and impersonal. The room was adequate at best, being worn and tired looking. The towels in the bathroom were thin and had holes. The bottom of the bathtub seemed slimy and the shower curtain was torn beyond usable. Soundproofing was terrible, the people above us were loud and I had to ask politely to be moved to a different room. They did accomodate my request, but seemed put out and reluctant to move us.
I understand that some guests aren't considerate, but I am paying for my room too and if it is too noisy I expect to have my request handled in a nice, professional way.
I would not stay here again, it was the least pleasant HI Express out of all we stayed in. Next time I will continue down the road to Visalia and stay there!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CoronaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

The hotel accomodation was good, up to the usual Holiday Inn Express standard.

The location was very convenient for Sequoia National park, very near the park entrance. There are very few dining choices nearby, basically an indifferent Mexican restaurant and a Pizza place.

The problem was that the staff who were not actually rude, but they were not helpful or welcoming either. This was very noticeable because everybody we had met up to then on this trip had been very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2006

Best of 4 Holiday Inns that we used on recent trip. As well as the ideal location this hotel really does provide excellent value with full breakfast, a good pool and hot tub, exercise room, laundry room, free wi-fi and a general use free PC in the lobby. They also had a separate block, with elevators, for people with disabilities.

I struggle to fault it - perhaps stopping breakfast at 09:30 is a bit early but otherwise great place to stay with shops and restaurants close by - a few just 100yds up the main street.

When we were there they were in the process of replacing all the mattresses and a stack of old ones was lying at the rear of the car park - a bit unsightly but hopefully only temporary.

Overall the HI Express chain seems to be trying to provide an all round service that visitors need with the little extras bundled in - not charged separately.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Tom1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2006

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Three Rivers for two nights while visiting Sequoia. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The air conditioning worked fine and it was needed with temps well into the 90's. The drive to the park is about 45mins. on very winding roads, so plan for drive time. The breakfast was good and the lobby had free internet access (15min.) The staff was friendly. We ate dinner at the pizza place across the street and the River View restaraunt up the road. Both were very good. There is not much else in this little town but the folks were very friendly from the restaraunts to the gas station. The hotel has a laundry room which came in very handy. We did not use the pool, the water looked a little dirty. I would recommend this hotel . The price was fair, location was good, people friendly, and the laundry room was a plus.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CBS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
18.7 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
631 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
2.7 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,398 reviews
15.6 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
22.0 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range: $92 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing