We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Very little choice when leaving Seqouia ....this looked the best. Good sized rooms, clean, WiFi was fine. Efficient check and advice on the few options for dinner. Pool not used, but seemed popular.
Breakfast was good, inc waffles you make yourself, but get there early as it can get busier towards the end

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryR328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice review. Im pleased that we were able to meet your needs and give you a place of comfort for the night. I hope that someday you will return to allow us to do the same again.

Many Happy Thoughts,

Shelly Matlock, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    383
    313
    85
    61
See reviews for
350
450
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a suite with a hot tub, which was very much to our liking. No complaints about the quality of the room. It was a bit over-priced, but it was summer, and the location has convientent Park access, so it was to be expected.
The real surprise was the service, and check-in times. You cannot check-in before 4, and there are NO exceptions. Even if the rooms are ready. They were rather un-helpful in this regard, and seemed to have no concern for the inconvience. They certainly did not try to make us feel like they cared about our comfort.

Room Tip: Do not arrivew before the check-in time. There are no exceptions for early check-ins
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

I apologize for your experience at check in, but it is our procedure to check guests in if the rooms are cleaned and inspected at the time of their arrival. If not, we can not check you in as we want everything to be absolutely ready for you when you go to your room. Check in is at 4pm but anytime you make a reservation at any hotel online or over the phone, there is always an option to include in special notes or to verbalize that you would like an early check in. We here, honor that request and would absolutely make sure that the room is ready for early arrival. I hope this information helps you in the future.

Sincerely,

Shelly Matlock, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

as I say...ok. but being a tad contradictory I react badly to signs everywhere telling me what I'm not allowed to do....I can only assume some bad experiences for the owners have lead them to believe that everyone's out to rip them off and do the wrong thing.

Backed up by slightly lacking facilities ( no ice in the ice machines) and I'd suggest there might be better alternatives - maybe not as we only stayed one night and who knows what else is around.

Think the owner turned up at breakfast and seemed more interested in counting money than making sure guests were looked after...sounds harsh but that was the impression.

So, yes it's ok. if you need somewhere to stay without knowing better, don't avoid it....but I suspect there may be better...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpIntlTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review regarding you stay. I appreciate all your comments and use every review as an opportunity to do better.

Many Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed here when we booked a last minute trip to the Dark Sky Festival. There was nothing else available. The hotel was completely booked which lead to many wifi connection problems and a very busy breakfast. The staff seemed a bit overwhelmed, but friendly for the most part. The hotel was still an hour away from Lodgepole, and it was a very windy road... Pool was refreshing! I would prefer a more quaint motel, but would stay here again under the same circumstances.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank threestoogefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and Im so pleased that we had a room available to you. I hope that you enjoyed our National Parks and the festival. Please allow us to give you a place of comfort in the future should you return to this area,

Many Thanks,

Shelly Matlock, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

I spent a night with my family at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Three Rivers on our way up to the Sequoia National Park and Yosemite. We arrived earlier than the stated check in time but had no problems getting into our room. This was spacious and comfortable with good air conditioning which was essential given the 100 plus degree heat outside. After a long drive from LA the pool was a fantastic was to relax. With breakfast as part of the price of the room this was not only good value but mightily convenient.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew050665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a great review, we always like to know when we are doing things right. I hope that the remainder of your journey was met with the same comforts and appreciation that you experienced here with us.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

From reading the other reviews, I was pretty concerned about this hotel. We got a good room in the newer 3-story building. Newer carpet, room had fridge and microwave. The A/C worked although it had been adjusted to 80 degrees while we were out.

The breakfast was ok. You get coupons for each person that you turn in each morning. Waffles (original was runny, blueberry was normal); Costco muffins; English Muffins; Toast; Cereal and eggs/sausage. Disappointed that they did not have better fruit or breakfast potatoes. Other reviews are accurate about the breakfast area being too small and crowded but there's nowhere else to expand to.

Pool was small but looked inviting. Unfortunately, it's only open from 10:00 am to 9:00 pm. Opens too late in the morning if you are going to go to Sequoia and closes too early at night if you leave the park around sunset.

Be prepared for a long drive to/from Sequoia national park. It's about 15 min to the park entrance and another 45 min up a windy mountain road to the General's Forest Museum. Same goes for the way back.

Overall, I would say it's average. Probably better than any other place in Three Rivers, though.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding our property. I appreciate your understanding on the breakfast area as you are correct, there is no space to expand. But I do hope that you were able to find some items that you enjoyed and was able to have a wonderful day in our National Parks. I hope that someday you will return and give us another opportunity to make more comfortable for you.

Many Happy Thoughts,

Shelly Matlock
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a very, very average, basic place to stay (quite, but not very close to Sequoia National Park) The hotel is ok, breakfast is horrible in crowded conditions, but it is the customer service that is truly terrible - any problems that you have while you're there are met with a take it or leave it attitude. No orange at breakfast for the two days i was there because "the machine is broken"!

Room Tip: A room in a different hotel would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I apologize that we fell short on making you feel appreciated and welcomed. I hope that the remainder of your journey was safe and happy.

Thank you..

Shelly Matlock
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
1.4 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.6 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,012 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
22.0 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
15.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Address: 40820 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing