We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Close to the Parks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Close to the Parks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had two rooms at the hotel during August and had no problem at all with the rooms.
My husband felt the mattress was too firm, but over all pretty good.
Our only complaint was the breakfast/lobby of the hotel.
We went to the lobby our first evening to drink coffe and play games with our friends.
It was so hot! We asked if they could turn on the air conditioner but they told us to just open the windows. It was hot in the mornings for breakfast and continued to be uncomfortable in the evenings.

This room was also packed for breakfast. While there was plenty of food, the logistics were terrible. It was so difficult to even walk around and select your breakfast items.

I wuld definitely recommend this hotel for price and location.
The front desk staff was very helpful.
We did have a mix up on a credit card, but they handled it with no problems.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We so much appreciate that you came to stay with us here in Three Rivers. I do apologize for the congested breakfast area..some mornings are better than others depending on occupancy and of course timing of guests coming through for breakfast. I hope that you made it home safely and that the rest of your journey was good.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    365
    290
    76
    55
See reviews for
312
436
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It is close to the park. Pick up your supplies in Vasalia prior to getting there. We have some milk allergies in our family so we had to make sure we had almond milk. There is one store on the main road and it was expensive.

We were in the building in the back on the second floor next to the stairs. I was expecting the worst but is was quiet. The microwave was old and hardly heated anything. The refrigerator was fine.

I could only get phone service in a corner of our room. Wifi is not secure.

The mattress was firm. The bathroom was clean with lots of counter space. It seemed as if we were not getting enough towels so we called down for them and they brought them quickly.

After a shower we had the door open to the bathroom to get rid of the steam. The fire alarm went off and I was ready to get out of there. I called the front desk to tell them and they asked if someone had taken a shower and stated that it always goes off from the steam and to wave a towel under it and it will turn itself off. At least we knew it worked.

The pool was nice. Packed every evening. It was fun. There were a lot of kids and a lot of cannonballs. If you do not want to get wet. Do not go to the pool.

Breakfast was good. I would go early and take it up to the room. It was packed by 8. No room to sit down. According to a sign in the breakfast room there was a shortage of eggs. It happened twice.

Overall the only reason we stayed there was the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank classicheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you Dear Guest for posting a review about your experience here at our property. I happy that you got to enjoy the amenities that we offer and that the location of our property was good for you as well. Yes we did run out of eggs due to the many wildfires in California. Our egg suppliers priority was to feed not only the 20,000 firefighters battling the "rim fire" in Yosemite but others that where burning at the same time in other areas of California... so I do apologize for that. I hope that we can be your place to rest the next time you are in our area.

Warm Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Abit pricy, but good location when all lodges in the park are full. It is just at the bottom of the mountain and park. 10 minutes away (in car) from the nearest visitor centre. Breakfast area can get crowded at pick times, but generally diverse breakfast food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaM0nica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate so much that you stayed with us and Im pleased that your found our hotel to meet your needs. I hope that you can visit us again someday..

Warm Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We loved this place. The location was beautiful. Our family of 4 really liked the room. We thought the place was clean, we thought the staff was very polite and helpful, and we thought the food they offered for breakfast was great. The breakfast area looked spacious but with the motel full, there were really no spots to sit and eat. That would be the only thing we would say was difficult, but if we had been willing to get up earlier and eat at7:00, there would probably have been room to sit. Would definitely recommend this hotel. It was very close to the Sequoia park as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a reveiw.... we are so pleased that you found us a good fit for your family and that we met your needs. I hope that your stay in this area gave you and your family a time for happy conversation and unique experiences. If ever in our little part of the world again, please let us be your place of comfort ....

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

It was a lot better then I did expect i was like wow..ok..since I have not been here before the photos really don't give it justice 'when we arrived it was a quick speedy check in the staff was very polite and pleasant...I did appreciate the call I got about ten minutes after check in from front desk asking if the room was OK and if we needed anything to just give them a ring, the room is very comfy and clean..the beds where very comfortable.. the pool is great for the family ..the location is great there is a local market and pizza parlor and Mexican restraunt 'also hotel sells items you may need or have forgotten and goodie snacks.morning breakfast is yuummy and delish
I would recommend hotel and definitely return ..thank you comfort inn and staff your truley Mrs .diaz

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chevygirlsgvbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We do strive to meet the needs of all our guests and it is so satisfying to us when we do. I hope that the rest of your journey was met with equal care and comfort and hope that you can return to stay with us again in the future.

Many Blessings,
Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I read one of the latest reviews saying that the place seems brand new......well, seems we stayed in two different places. The furniture is worn and I even found some stains resembling blood on the curtains (room 2040) . The AC unit on the floor is old, dirty and noisy. The complimentary internet connection works for 5 minutes, then it disconnects, you need to log on again, and so on and so on. Writing this review took me to log in 4 times! Housekeeping is ok, just they forgot to empty the waste bin:-(.
But nothing beats the breakfast , well, this is something to dwell on. We came down around 8.30 (and the breakfast is served from 6.30 to 9.30) - the place was FULL , no place to sit down, no way to get a coffee, getting waffles means standing 20 minutes in a queue - we spent there ca. 30 minutes , finally managed to get a coffee and toasts - ate standing and left. Didn't seem any improvement after those 30 min - still awfully crowded, new people still coming in, all seats taken. And it was Friday, can only imagine what will happen during the weekend. We are leaving tomorrow, and will rather go somewhere else to have a decent breakfast, and a chance to sit after 30 min of waiting. I think this is something the management could improve.
Now the pluses - the place is conviniently located close to the entrance to the Sequoia Park - still it takes 15 minutes by car, there are plenty of other B&B nearby. We didn't use the pool - it is small and again awfully crowded, seems somebody could not properly calculate the number of rooms and adjust it to breakfast and pool conditions. Definitely will not return.
One more thing -in the hotel directory you can find the add of a Mexican Restaurant just across the street - which we believed in and ate a supper yesterday - a good advice - please, DON'T eat there, unless you are starving to death and all other places are closed . There are plenty of good restaurants in the vicinity , A Geteway to name one where we had a dinner today.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize for all your discomforts at our property but I do hope that you enjoyed our beautiful national parks. I agree that some reviews are vastly different than others and that they are based on an individuals perseption. I hope that you arrive home safely.

Best Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Three Rivers hotels

Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A standard 2-star hotel. Good location (6 miles from the national park entrance) but could be noisy because many families with kids stay here. The room is average but is clean. A supermarket is conveniently across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. I am pleased that you found us to be accommodating and I hope that you can stay with us again.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
1.4 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
2.7 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
15.6 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
22.0 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
15.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing