We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The River Inn & Cabins
Ranked #10 of 11 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 30, 2008

We stayed three nights in the hotel during Thanksgiving holidays. Overall the hotel is good but very basic; nothing extraordinary. The front desk person was friendly and very helpful and gave us a lot of information. The breakfast was a brown bag with fresh fruit, muffins and juice. Could have been better.

The location is very convenient; it's located one mile from the Sequoia National Park entrance.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank butterfly623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 108 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2008

we stayed one night in the motel and found everything ok, the motel looks more seducing on picture then in reality, it is located next to the road and offers a well kept room for the night, the breakfast brought at the door in the morning is far to basic: no bread no juice, just a cookie and some fruit, wouldn't recommend for a longer stay,

Stayed: June 2008
2  Thank jglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

We found the River Inn to be clean, basic and friendly. We stayed for one night in the motel part. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the front desk person was friendly and it was fine for stopping for the night before heading into the park the next day. On the trip advisor website it seems to be classified as a bed and breakfast--I don't think the "breakfast in a bag" really qualifies it as a bed and breakfast. But I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TravelerSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

it was a great deal in terms of cost; however, there were some bugs that needed to be worked out. the gas stove in the room was leaking when we got there and i had to relight the pilor. the toilet was a little testy. the view was nice however. there was no houskeeping staff, and that was okay since it was just myself and my son, age 7. there was space for him to ride his bike and hike around. I probably will stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ratmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2006

Very close to Sequoia NP entrance.
Small friendly motel, well decorated and very clean
Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Told us exactly what we should be able to see in the short time that we had.
Simple breakfast of a piece of fruit and muffin delivered to door in morning.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SussexOrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2006

Seven of us (2 families) booked the largest cabin for two nights. We found three bedrooms (2 with 2 queen-size beds, 1 with 1 queen-size bed) plus a pull-out couch. All were made up with fresh linens, and the cabin was clean. There was also a small kitchen (equipped), a sitting area (with the pull-out couch and a TV+DVD player), and a tiny deck with a propane grill.

The cabin comfortably slept the seven of us on six beds. There was some road noise in the front bedroom, but the traffic died down after 11:00pm. Those in the back bedrooms did not hear the traffic.

We used the propane grill one night to cook burgers, and cooked breakfast in the kitchen both mornings and found enough utensils that this was never difficult.

The previous reviewer felt ripped off because he/she expected a very different set of services than are provided here. This is not a resort hotel with meals, maid service, etc. This is a housekeeping cabin with privacy and the option to save some money by cooking your own meals.

Be aware that though the park entrance is only 1+ miles away, it still takes 45 minutes to get to any of the major sites (Moro Rock), and up to 3 hours to get to the farthest (Cedar Grove). This is partly due to the 4,000 ft elevation gain on sharp switchbacks and the 25mph speed limit on the first part of the park road. If your goal is to hit the easily accessible park highlights, then consider staying in one of the lodges within the park. On the flip side, this location made it easy to drive out to the beautiful alpine meadow at the end of the Mineral King Road.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anonymous_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2006

We chose The River Inn & Cabins for a 4 day getaway to the Sierras in December 2005. It was supposed to be wonderful and relaxing, and we booked a "Romance Package" with this little Inn at the gateway to Kings Canyon & Sequoia National Parks, with a private cabin overlooking the river. We were to recieve free breakfast every day, a private hot tub, and at $140 a night - were expecting a memorable stay.

The first night we were informed that there is NO housekeeping. Then NO breakfast every morning. The customer agreement stated that we would have linens changed after the 2nd night. They were NOT changed at all during our stay. The "cabin" (which was not freestanding) was small, dusty, and dirty.

The first night we discovered the toilet was not working, this being brought to the owner's attention, he looked at it and said "you know, these things happen" and was very curt with us and just asked us to not use it often until he was able to have a plumber in the family look at it the next day. We came back after a long day hiking the next day looking forward to a dip in our hot tub, to find the owner, his wife, and a plumber puttering around our cabin making a fuss over the tiolet. They has purchased a new one, and just left it there in the bathroom, and did not install it even though we were gone from 8:00am - 5:30pm that day. So we were told to go outside and walk in the cold night to another cabin's bathroom for the duration of our stay. We were very polite about protesting the changes for the worse in the customer agreement (after we had signed it) to no avail.

I had a wonderful meal at the Gateway Restaurant in town, stay at that inn or the holiday inn express. Sequoia is indeed beautiful, stay at Cedar Lodge or somewhere else inside the park to make the most of your time, as from Three Rivers it takes about an hour to get to the valley at the north end of the park.

I would give this inn 0 out of 5 points if it were possible.

18  Thank LovesIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
11 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,469 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
314 reviews
19.5 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.4 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
662 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn & Cabins

Address: 45176 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9637
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range: $78 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The River Inn & Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The River Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Inn & Cabins Hotel Three Rivers
The River Inn And Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing