We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Oak cabin was great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Inn & Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The River Inn & Cabins
Ranked #10 of 11 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“River Oak cabin was great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed three days and two nights at the River Oak cabin in the River Inn, and it was great! The cabin was small, but it was large enough for two people. The bed was comfortable, and everything looked clean. The kitchen is small, but well equipped with stove, fridge, microwave, and dishes. Prep areas for food are limited to a table outside on the deck or a small table next to the bed. The deck outside was really nice, private, and the hot tub was great to relax after a day of hiking and driving. Your backyard is literally the river bed, and you can hear the river loudly, which was nice.

Overall, we really enjoyed staying at the River Oak cabin. And cooking our own meals saved us a lot in food. I would definitely recommend it and I would stay here again on future trips. I think the negative reviews are from people who are way too picky and are expecting a high-end luxury resort experience.

The good stuff:
- Cozy and comfortable small cabin.
- Equipped with all the luxuries, including a hot tub on the deck
- Friendly and helpful owners/staff
- Very close to Sequoia park entrance
- Right on the river
- Well kept and very clean
- Their website portrayed a very accurate and informative description about the cabin, I was very pleased upon arrival.

My only complaints (which are very insignificant):
- The kitchen has very little food prep and counter space areas
- The shower head in the bathroom is a bit low, tall people will have to lean down
- You have to pay for WiFi, and we were told that it's only good for checking emails and web surfing, but too slow to upload photos or download content.
- There's absolutely no cell phone reception as soon as you hit the lake, unless you have AT&T, so do everything you have to do before you pass the lake.
- The deck has only one dim light, which made it a bit hard to grill in the dark both evenings
- The AC is a wall unit, so be aware that it'll be a bit loud if you have it running all night.
- You won't be able to sleep in because it gets really bright early in the morning (which might be a good thing)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheeGrCERO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    20
    8
    26
See reviews for
28
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had planned to camp in the park, but needed a break, and found this little place nearby. It looked a little iffy on the outside, despite all the nice plantings, and we asked to see a room. A staff member showed us the room we could use, and was very helpful in pointing things out to us. The room felt a little small, but that could have been the furniture. The TV cabinet held not only the TV but the refrigerator and microwave (it also had drawers for other things). Everything was clean and looked as if it had been recently remodeled. The bed was comfortable, and it was so peaceful that, after checking in, I immediately took a nap (and slept well that night). The only problem we had was that they were fully booked the next night, and we had to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeneaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Clean, new sheets and linens. Large room. Very welcoming A.C. due to the hot weather. The staff was very friendly and let us borrow a bottle opener and the use of their hose. Nice landscaping. Bistro set outside room let us sit on the deck and watch the sun hit the mountains on the cool morning. I had fair warning at the time of booking the room that it was non-refundable. I was warning that the breakfast was minimal. Only negative: the breakfast muffen taste like chemicals and 100% artificial.

Room Tip: bottom floor is cooler and access without climbing stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyThisSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

I spent two very comfortable nights at River Inn. My room was large, good bathroom with a tub, good TV that worked, and nice people running the inn. The Three Rivers river across the street added wonderful back ground music and the nicely landscaped front area was pleasing to my gardener's eyes. The Breakfast in a Bag" made a perfect mid morning snack when I visited Sequoia. There is a bank, gas, laundry, good restaurants nearby and the shuttle into the park is a must-do. The inn is quiet and peaceful. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraWilmington_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

On our tour we stayed two nights in this Inn and never regreted staying there. As Three Rivers is a long streched location along the road, it´s not surprising, that all the accomodationes we saw were along this road, but the this Inn is a little set back, and at evenings there is hardly any traffic, as it´s just one or two miles to the National park, which is obviously closed at night to the public. There´s a lawn in front of the Inn, where you can relax in reclining chairs, alltogether the place is charming, with a hint of english gardens.
The rooms were spacious and clean with AC, TV, fridge, microwave and coffemaker, what else would you need?
Our hosts were friendly and very helpfull, gave us good advice on our tours to the park,
thank´s very much again for the pleasure staying with you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErichMarkwica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

We just returned from our trip to Yosemite and Sequoia National Forests. We new this time of year you take your chances on the weather. Unfortunately for us we hit the massive weather system that blew through the Sierras March 19-25, 2011. This caused us to spend our first three days in Yosemite without powear and massive snow, when we finally managed to get out with a forest service/highway patrol escort we contacted Laura at Three Rivers Inn and Cabins to see if we could check in early. We were thrilled to find out we could. Laura and her husband were extremely helpful. They also were very empathetic to our chanllenges earlier in the week. We stayed in the Kaweah Cabin. The cabin was well stocked with towels, toilet tissue, shampoos, every kind of pot and pan you can think off for cooking in the kitchen as well as a ton of kitchen gagets that would allow anyone to cook a gourmet meal should they choose to do so. Even though it rained our entire stay we managed to spend a few hours in the morning after we checked in, visiting Hospital Rock and hiking down to the river. The next day even though we had to chain up for the snow, we were able to travel up to the Giant Forest and do the Marble Falls hiking trail. This property is right outside the park entrance and we really did not have any issues with traffic noise as reported in some of the other posts. The owners were very accomodating, helpful, friendly and available to us the entire trip. Our stay was for three nights and we enjoyed every minute of it. The views from the back deck are fantastic and yes, you can hear the river!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REMcRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
photoJenny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Kaweah cabin with another couple over a winter holiday weekend. We were very pleased with the location, customer service and quality of the cabin. This was a last-minute trip, and I was worried that we wouldn't find anything to suit our needs calling 3 days in advance. Jerry, the owner/manager of the property, was great. He and his wife clearly love the area (who wouldn't!) and love sharing advice and stories with travelers.

The cabin itself was clean and a good size. Bathroom was stocked with lots of towels and toiletries. We made use of the small kitchen and grill. There was also a tv/dvd player, but we didn't even turn it on during our stay. The heat was pretty inconsistent from one room to the next, but with the use of the included space heater and propping some doors open, we were all comfortable.

The location simply cannot be beat. Just minutes from the entrance to Sequoia NP, but down in the foothills so you don't have to worry about snow and ice during storms.

I would definitely recommend the cabins at the River Inn for anyone looking for a rustic, cozy getaway.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank photoJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
11.0 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
15.4 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
19.5 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn & Cabins

Property: The River Inn & Cabins
Address: 45176 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9637
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The River Inn & Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The River Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Inn & Cabins Hotel Three Rivers
The River Inn And Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing