We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The River Inn & Cabins
Ranked #10 of 11 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Clean, new sheets and linens. Large room. Very welcoming A.C. due to the hot weather. The staff was very friendly and let us borrow a bottle opener and the use of their hose. Nice landscaping. Bistro set outside room let us sit on the deck and watch the sun hit the mountains on the cool morning. I had fair warning at the time of booking the room that it was non-refundable. I was warning that the breakfast was minimal. Only negative: the breakfast muffen taste like chemicals and 100% artificial.

Room Tip: bottom floor is cooler and access without climbing stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyThisSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 104 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2011

I spent two very comfortable nights at River Inn. My room was large, good bathroom with a tub, good TV that worked, and nice people running the inn. The Three Rivers river across the street added wonderful back ground music and the nicely landscaped front area was pleasing to my gardener's eyes. The Breakfast in a Bag" made a perfect mid morning snack when I visited Sequoia. There is a bank, gas, laundry, good restaurants nearby and the shuttle into the park is a must-do. The inn is quiet and peaceful. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraWilmington_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

On our tour we stayed two nights in this Inn and never regreted staying there. As Three Rivers is a long streched location along the road, it´s not surprising, that all the accomodationes we saw were along this road, but the this Inn is a little set back, and at evenings there is hardly any traffic, as it´s just one or two miles to the National park, which is obviously closed at night to the public. There´s a lawn in front of the Inn, where you can relax in reclining chairs, alltogether the place is charming, with a hint of english gardens.
The rooms were spacious and clean with AC, TV, fridge, microwave and coffemaker, what else would you need?
Our hosts were friendly and very helpfull, gave us good advice on our tours to the park,
thank´s very much again for the pleasure staying with you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErichMarkwica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We just returned from our trip to Yosemite and Sequoia National Forests. We new this time of year you take your chances on the weather. Unfortunately for us we hit the massive weather system that blew through the Sierras March 19-25, 2011. This caused us to spend our first three days in Yosemite without powear and massive snow, when we finally managed to get out with a forest service/highway patrol escort we contacted Laura at Three Rivers Inn and Cabins to see if we could check in early. We were thrilled to find out we could. Laura and her husband were extremely helpful. They also were very empathetic to our chanllenges earlier in the week. We stayed in the Kaweah Cabin. The cabin was well stocked with towels, toilet tissue, shampoos, every kind of pot and pan you can think off for cooking in the kitchen as well as a ton of kitchen gagets that would allow anyone to cook a gourmet meal should they choose to do so. Even though it rained our entire stay we managed to spend a few hours in the morning after we checked in, visiting Hospital Rock and hiking down to the river. The next day even though we had to chain up for the snow, we were able to travel up to the Giant Forest and do the Marble Falls hiking trail. This property is right outside the park entrance and we really did not have any issues with traffic noise as reported in some of the other posts. The owners were very accomodating, helpful, friendly and available to us the entire trip. Our stay was for three nights and we enjoyed every minute of it. The views from the back deck are fantastic and yes, you can hear the river!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REMcRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Kaweah cabin with another couple over a winter holiday weekend. We were very pleased with the location, customer service and quality of the cabin. This was a last-minute trip, and I was worried that we wouldn't find anything to suit our needs calling 3 days in advance. Jerry, the owner/manager of the property, was great. He and his wife clearly love the area (who wouldn't!) and love sharing advice and stories with travelers.

The cabin itself was clean and a good size. Bathroom was stocked with lots of towels and toiletries. We made use of the small kitchen and grill. There was also a tv/dvd player, but we didn't even turn it on during our stay. The heat was pretty inconsistent from one room to the next, but with the use of the included space heater and propping some doors open, we were all comfortable.

The location simply cannot be beat. Just minutes from the entrance to Sequoia NP, but down in the foothills so you don't have to worry about snow and ice during storms.

I would definitely recommend the cabins at the River Inn for anyone looking for a rustic, cozy getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photoJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Total rip-off. For long weekends they require three-day minimum stay and provide no refunds despite their promises to the contrary. The price was around $130 per night plus tax -- grossly overpriced.

The location is bad. The only reason to stay in River Inn is to visit Sequoia and Kings Canyon. This place is outside of the park and there is usually huge traffic to get into the park during the weekends -- took us 45 min to drive less than a mile to the park. Kings Canyon is really 3 hours away given typical traffic. Sequoia is 1.5-2 hrs with traffic. There is absolutely no reason to stay in Three Rivers for longer than 1 night. Most people go to Kings Canyon for the second day and find lodging in Kings Canyon area, saving themselves 5 hours of driving. Going back to River Inn means wasting 5-6 hours per day sitting in traffic instead of enjoying the park.

The hotels issues no refunds no matter what, breaking their earlier promises. It's a total rip-off: bad location, bad lodging quality, + 2-3 nights minimum stay. Most people want to leave after the first night once they see the poor quality of the place, and the owners know that, so they lock people into 2-3 nights minimum stay in a crappy place sight unseen.

The room quality is poor: a very cheap two-star place with poor sound insulation. Noisy on weekends. Not worth more than $50-60 per night in all honesty. The rooms get extremely hot in summer, and air conditioner is very noisy. In addition to that, the hotel is right next to the road, and the road noise is also bad.

There are much nicer places to stay in Three Rivers for less money -- check other reviews on TripAdvisor or on Google Maps. This hotel is probably the worst lodging accommodation in Three Rivers.

Recommendation: book in a different hotel in Three Rivers for the first night, and another place in Kings Canyon area for the second night. If money is not a problem, stay inside the park. Even better, go camping -- cheaper, much nicer, and in the middle of a beautiful forest.

Good luck!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank curious538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I'd venture most travellers do not seek out Three Rivers in itself as a vacation destination. It's a small town and appears to be nice enough as such. The draw for the outsider is the proximity to Sequoia National park. Any way you slice it, it's a long drive (at least an hour) to get to the most-frequented park destinations - the Giant Forest, Moro Rock, etc. - and I booked a night at the River Inn because it was close to the park entrance.

The proprietors were friendly, and the room as I expected: it was clean, the air-conditioner worked, there's a nice little table outside each room for those who want to linger with coffee, watch the sunlight on the hills, and savor the fragrant hillside air. As mentioned in another review, it's close to the road, but pretty much everything is in this narrow canyon. I don't recall traffic noise being excessive - less than I've gotten when in hotels in big cities. There are a couple of places within a five-minute drive to catch decent meals, and there's a small convenience store right next door for last-minute snacks and additions to day-trip supplies.

In short, if you're looking for a room with all the amenities of a chain, you'll be disappointed. If you're looking for a clean, quiet place to hang your hat before you head for a day at the park, then I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiblioWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
15.4 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
645 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
311 reviews
11.0 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
19.5 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
536 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn & Cabins

Address: 45176 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9637
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range: $86 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The River Inn & Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The River Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Inn & Cabins Hotel Three Rivers
The River Inn And Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing