We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice view...but meal average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
559-561-4133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice view...but meal average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Yes, a nice view...but meal overall average....salad as described by others was poor...clearly already prepared and somewhat limp...not impressed with my steak, but my wife was happy with hers..service was OK...but price on the high side for quality

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryR328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    107
    71
    51
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Steak Ever at Gateway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We have eaten at the Gateway restaurant for the last 5 years. My
wife had the best new york steak ever at the Gateway. The steak
was tender and covered with delicious peppercorn wine sauce with
mushrooms. I have had over the years excellent shrimp scampi,
salmon and huge ribeye steaks. We always take their outstanding
club sandwich to go for picnics. The sandwich has turkey,
bacon, ham, lettuce and tomato. It comes with their "World
Famous" potato salad. The restaurant has a view of the river and
the ducks. Very romantic!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pete w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast with Peaceful Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Breakfast was Great and we were seated outside by the stream. We watched dragonflies play, fish swimming in the stream and ducks playing as we waited for our food. Good to get there fairly early if you are going ingot he Sequoia National Park as traffic gets backed up from the gate entrance past the parking lot so can be difficult to get out onto the road. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pillarsoflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This restaurant is by-far the nicest place to eat in Three Rivers. The food was adequate, but the quality was not what it should have been for the price. For example, the lettuce in the salad was iceberg lettuce. The rice-pilaf was from a mix, and I suspect the chicken was a frozen entree. The dinner rolls tasted like the variety you get in a plastic bag at the supermarket. It was adequate, but shouldn't have been priced at $23. For that I would expect a higher quality meal. For comparison, the meal at the Peaks Restaurant at the Wuksachi Lodge in Sequoia Park was about the same price, but had much higher quality ingredients.So the high price here can't be entirely attributed to the remote location.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AZRockhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed getting take out of the same dinner sandwich entrée twice while staying at the Buckeye Tree Lodge next door! I had the salmon burger-it was very flavorful, moist, and not very fishy. It was salmon so it tasted like salmon, with added flavors from spice and oil. The bun was delicious too. It came with cheese, mayo, lettuce, and tomatoes which were equally delicious. The side salad was a generous portion. And their honey mustard dressing was wonderful. The zucchini and onion vegetable side was totally yummy! I'm happy I experienced this pleasant, down to earth restaurant while staying in the sequoias.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilyyb1rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing