We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average and overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
559-561-4133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very average and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Possibly the most expensive meal we had whilst in the U.S. It's in a lovely position and we were seated outside by the river but sadly that's where the pluses stop. This restaurant could be so much more if it only got the food right!! My seafood crepe was soggy and contained very little seafood and the salmon therein was very dry. My partner's steak was no more than very average which didn't match the price. We had hoped that this would be a memorable meal at the end of a lovely day in Sequoia, what a disappointment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank whispycl0ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    107
    71
    51
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay out!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Bad food, almost uneatable! And overpriced. Stay out! We had a boring sallad with 2 slices of tomato and 2 slices of cucumber and a strange soup that felt like prison food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sofiejonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Save your money, don't go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This restaurant pretends to be something it is not. It says it's fine dining, it isn't, plus it is totally over priced. My fish was not cooked properly. I have had food poisioning from undercooked fish before in the States and was not planning to have it again. The fish was sent back. There was no apology, nothing. Whilst I was waiting for my new meal to arrive, another server came to see how my Husband's meal was and didn't even comment on the fact that I had no plate in front of me which I thought was really odd. Surely you would wait unitl mine arrived and then check we were ok - go figure! This was our most expensive meal in 3 weeks of touring California and also the worst. Three Rivers is a tiny town there is not much choice for eating at all and I really think if this restaurant was in a busier place it wouldn't survive. It was really was not worth the price we paid for it, it was a big disappointment, I wish we had gone down the road to the take away pizza place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthie3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Steaks and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I visited near the end of the season but this restaurant was still crowded on a Friday night (wedding party dinner) so we were not able to sit outside. Our server was attentive and our steaks (NY Strip and Ribeye) were tasty and well prepared. Our only drawback was the inside seating area was warm and stuffy, outside would have been better but oh well. We recommend the Gateway for those wanting to enjoy a nice dinner and drinks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“expensive, but close to the park”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Too expensive for the rooms and the restraint, nice place but they are a bit proud, to high priced!!!!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jhamill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing