We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great food and view with nice room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and view with nice room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had a great dinner here near the river. And the room was comfortable and affordable. Great outdoor seating overlooking the river and the duck below.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scorpio6737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    112
    74
    53
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morelia, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service with a flair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The food is very, very good, but I think what stands out in my mind the most is the graciousness and thoughtfulness of our server .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laddie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is absolutely one of the worst restaurants my wife and I have ever eaten. Way overpriced. My wife ordered Eggplant parmesan. When it came, there was no marinara sauce in the dish; yet the menu stated as such. She was too polite to complain. I had a shrimp dish. The shrimp were tough. Had we not been so hungry, both dishes would have ben returned. We were served by two inept servers. Not worth the money. Avoid eating here if possible.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dtwsjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Kentucky
Level Contributor
95 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This restaurant is a tourist trap. Given its location as one of the last feeding stations before the southern entrance to Sequoia, that's not surprising. However, that doesn't mean they don't give value while they've got their hand in your pocket...just not great value. Keep your expectations low and you'll be alright. The wines were so-so but the glasses were well and truly filled. The food was good but nothing special. One, at least this one, can't eat five star every day...or even most days. Although we thought this place overpriced, it wasn't egregiously so. The view from the terrace was pleasant and somewhat exotic for a couple from other climes. All in all, despite being mildly fleeced, an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielRLexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All the ingredients - something missing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The food was excellent, with good quality meats well cooked. The deck provides a great view and atmosphere. However, the service was poor - inattentive and mistaken-ridden. It was more suitable for a bar than formal (fairly expensive restaurant). Perhaps a little complacent owing to its location.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hmaffchc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 
 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing