We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Three Rivers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This restaurant is one of the few in the area. A staff member of the Comfort Inn recommended this place. We had the bbq ribs,a house salad with chicken, a sandwhich and ice tea. Our bill was $77. Seems rather pricey for what we got and especially because the ribs had no flavor at all.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank evergreen2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    121
    76
    54
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
169 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic view but nothing more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The view is the thing. Beautiful setting right on the river and we enjoyed sitting outside. The menu seemed manageable for the area but the execution and quality were a huge miss. My steak was marinated to death and tasteless. Didn't think that any place could mess up a baked potato but they did. Service was slow. It took over 20 minutes to get our cocktails and almost 90 minutes for our food. Ordered an appetizer that was never delivered. Way too expensive for all of that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Is it still 1980?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Came here recently as it was recommended as the only "high-end" restaurant in Three Rivers. It was quite a drive out of Three Rivers almost to the gate of Sequoia NP, hence the name. There was a nice patio with a great view, but it was busy and instead we sat inside. The decor was very drab and seemed to be right out of a 1980's sitcom. The prices were "high-end" but the food certainly wasn't, very unimpressive. I had tomato soup to start and then the salmon. Two of us ordered soup and it came in small bowls with half the soup dripping down the outside of BOTH of the bowls! What happened to presentation? My salmon was fine, but nothing to write home about. The other mains were a bland pasta dish and a very chewy steak.

Recommendation: Go to the River View Restaurant & Lounge instead! Also has a nice patio with river view, but food is much better value! (See here in TripAdvisor)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal; little pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

They served a good proportioned meal that was excellent. Pricey, about $25 per meal; worth the price so long as we didn't have to eat there every night.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
1 review
“Pathetic service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I don't Recommend this place to anybody . Food and service was bad .You're better off eating at McDonald's. Or the Serrano restaurant. The bread is very stale like prison inmate food.. The duck don't like the bread we fed them from the restaurant Either. The fish tank needs to be cleaned and the flies on the Window was outrageous. If I was white I probably would get better service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnjohn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing