We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“All about the waterfront patio...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Three Rivers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All about the waterfront patio...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

As others have said, the service is lackluster (with the exception of one handsome waiter from North Carolina - see I even remember where he was from!)... Lunch prices are reasonable, dinner is not so much.

The reason to come here is for the waterfront patio. There is no view to match it for miles. Just gorgeous. Enjoy the ducks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    120
    75
    54
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Customer service need a lot of work .”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Waitress did not introduce herself.
As well as guy.
The order took to long . Waitress at least should have had Told us it will be at least a minute but Passing by and not acknowledge us. Group of seven . My family owns five restaurants an the number one thing is good service good employees and good food will bring more people back.
Invoice #1066.1. Day17spencer station 4 time 9.26 pm. And this hotel call comfort inn recommend it to us . Wow. Only good thing about this place is the view .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FEARTHEMNOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Your paying for the view!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Patio dining view is AMAZING... right on the water.
Service was so-so. I was charged for something I didn't order. Owner was very nice though
Worst rib eye steak I've ever had.
EXPENSIVE!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank unitedmom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wow, what a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We got a recommendation from a local on where to eat while driving through here. Can not thank her enough! We were quickly greeted and asked if we would like to sit outside on the patio. It was a sunny warm day so we I said yes. It was beautiful! The view of the river and trees was just wonderful, and the ducks, birds and fish were very entertaining. We ordered a BLT on wheat with cole slaw, and a Cub on sourdough with French fries, and diet cokes. The food arrived quickly and was soooo tasty. I think my husband ate the cole slaw in one breath. Everything was fresh and crisp, bacon was cooked perfectly, and the French fries were hot. We had planned to stop for a quick meal, but got so much more. It was so relaxing with such good food and scenery we didn't want to leave, and there was no rushing you out. They tell you take your time, leave whenever you are ready. We would highly recommend the Gateway to anyone going to or through Three Rivers. Food was great, service was wonderful, and the view was to magnificent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice experience - great surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The clerk at our hotel suggested this restaurant and we were pleased we followed her lead! We ate on the patio riverside and enjoyed the running waters. The food was good, service was lovely. I had salmon that was wonderfully prepared, my husband's favorite item was the chocolate lava cake. I'd definitely eat here again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KSKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing