We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A beatiful view and dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
Ranked #7 of 15 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A beatiful view and dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our dinner here was very nice. The food and service were well done. We sat outside by the river and enjoyed the sounds of the water and birds. It was a very nice experience and I would go there again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mimidarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    134
    82
    55
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was a very pleasant surprise!! The restaurant was recommended by the desk staff at the hotel we stayed at. Driving up, it looks like a bar. Once you get inside, there is a bar area but the dining area has white table cloths and it even has outdoor seating next to the river. We chose to be out by the river and it was wonderful! The food is on the upper end, but well worth it. We had a slab of ribs and shared it between us - and ended up taking some home! BEST RIBS EVER!! All the other food we saw being served looked just as good. You can go casual (we were wearing jeans and sweatshirts) but it is definitely a great place to go. Highly recommended!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaspvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good service andoofod”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Food was good, service excellent, Nice view. We thinking THE best there is. Best you just chose for à steak, you recieven also some soup and salad

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marina300459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Place to go when you need food to eat near your lodging. Small town place, nothing super special. Bar was alright and bartender was fine to talk to. Local crowd was a little off..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pri91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivins, Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Location, High Prices, Mediocre Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Agree with another viewer, Don't bother. We checked out their "honeymoon cabin" and it was dirty, small and awful, all for only $148/night plus tax. No thanks.

We ate two meals at the restaurant, being somewhat location dependent, being on motorcycles and not wanting to ride back into town, (granted, only a few miles), for dinner. FYI - No pizza delivery in Three Rivers.

Dinner prices are expensive, the "special" that night was a 12 oz ribeye for $32.95. We passed on that and got a chicken pasta dish that was simply ok, but hardly worth the price we paid. And they charge an additional fee if you split an entree as well.

Breakfast was no better. Burnt muffins with a layer of black on the bottom and obvious burned edges on top. The bacon was very nice, tasty and crisp, as asked for. The chicken fried steak BREAKFAST came with mashed potatoes and thin, tasteless gravy. My wife asked what potatoes came with her ordered two eggs, bacon and potatoes and was told hashbrowns, which came a bit overdone, but I foolishly expected the same for the chicken fried steak. Not so.

The "mixed fruit" that came with the breakfasts was half a strawberry, two small chunks of pineapple, and a single small chunk of cantaloupe. Not bad, but hardly worth a mention on the menu.

To their credit, they did well to manage a group that called ahead and while the service was certainly not bad, it wasn't what you would expect at those prices either. The smallish bar can get loud in the evenings, but appeared to be pleasantly full service. Champagne was on the menu for breakfast, (Crystal and another), which would have appealed had we not been riding motorcycles that morning.

Over all, we would not return to this restaurant, or consider the lodging here. Far too spendy for what is offered. Instead, we would stay closer to town and enjoy the variety of restaurants there, at significantly lower prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 
 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing