We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Steak & Wine in Sequoia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Three Rivers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northern California
Level Contributor
216 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Steak & Wine in Sequoia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Having read trip advisor reviews of the Gateway Restaurant, four of us booked room at the completion of a ride over Sherman Pass. Glen, the owner made it a point to visit with us at the very well stocked bar before we went in to dinner. We all had the steak special, which was indeed something special. Our waiter was very helpful in selecting a local wine. After dinner we had a drink of good grappa from the bar. All in all, a very special evening at a very special place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tjanderson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    120
    76
    54
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth doing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Sit outside. That's what makes it all worthwhile. The view is amazing. Nice menu selection; food well-prepared and presented. Good wine list. Just accept that you are paying extra for the ambiance. Casual dress is perfectly ok.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GypsyRoverPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Sit outside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The go to place for sitting by the river. But you must sit outside, walk past the warm tables, and listen to the river. Nice granite boulders, good coffee. The menu is OK. The service Meh. The view extraordinare.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tuleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good, but a bit pricy...for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Food was excellent and the menu varied. Just a bit pricy for OUR tastes, but the only game in town. Service, facilities and quality was fine all 'round.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WBrecheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best cooked steak in the USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Absolutely superb in every way. Charming, friendly and helpful bar staff and great cocktails!
The owner Susan made us really feel at home. My steak was so good on the first night that I had it again on the second! Nothing was too much trouble and on a busy Friday and Saturday night all the staff were really helpful despite them all being very busy. My Budweiser Gateway glass has pride of place in my kitchen.
Well done Guys and thank you so much

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 
 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing