We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Darke Co. Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Nice place, a little dated but that is part of the charm, the staff was great, nice pool, great roaring river right off of the balcony, reasonable prices.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darke_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    132
    34
    14
    6
See reviews for
99
150
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

This was an old school hotel, the kind I remember as a kid. It was not a luxe and plush, but we had a spotless room, a beautiful,raging river to watch, fresh ground coffee and a terrific, yummy breakfast basket. The bed was really comfortable, and the pool was FABULOUS! It is run by a cute young family. There was a terrific Mexican restaurant down the street. Would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone that can just enjoy where they are (and not need a Four Seasons) and go with it. It was great!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank granolagrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Last year, my boyfriend and I came to the buckeye to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. We loved the lodge and Sequoia National Park so much that we decided to return this year with our friends and family to get married in the park, and BBQ later at the lodge. We were with a small group- about 12 people total but every last thing was perfect. The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and the fresh coffee is fantastic. The setting could not be more perfect. If I could wake up at the Buckeye every morning and to the sound of that river, I would be a stress free, perpetually at peace gal. We used their basic little grills to cook up a STORM. I had the best time ever. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarafinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

This motel is situated right outside the Sequoia Nat Park entrance, overlooking the river. The views down the river from the rooms are wonderful and the motel has a real outdoor/natural feel to it. However there are a few negatives, which I will list, but strangely given the location and general environment, these points didn't put us off, we still came away with fond memories. However if unlike us, you are a bit fussy, be aware of the following; aircon noisy, few ants in bathroom, v cold pool (not good for our small children), fly screens at windows broken, wifi connection poor ( had to sit by pool by night to plan next days' lodging(!). To compensate though the fresh coffee supplied in the room was fab, the staff helpful and friendly and the garden great to unwind at the end of the day, oh and lots of photo opportunities.
One last word on odd smoking policy-other reviews offended by people smoking on shared balcony. Although it didn't occur during our stay, it would have been of great inconvenience if someone did light up outside our room, esp if we were sat out enjoying the scenery.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMJEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

The grounds around this hotel are so relaxing. just sitting on the deck or in the area by the river lets all of your stress melt away. TheGateway restaurant was an unexpected treasure. great food, service and views. The hotel room would have been better if a sitting area other than at the table could have been provide and updated bed and bedding would make this place great.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mygirlieDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We just stayed for 5 nights at the Buckeye Lodge and had a very pleasant time. The rooms are not fancy but clean and comfortable. The lodge is less than ½ mile from the gate to Sequoia and our room was right by the river although there are very large boulders so you cannot easily get down to the water but the view is great. The first 3 nights we had a room with a kitchenette but when we wanted to extend our stay had to move to a different room without the kitchenette. The folks at the lodge moved all our things into the new room while we were visiting the park. We have 2 dogs and the lodge has several pet rooms which were great. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Each day we were provided with a small basket of 2 pastries, 2 pieces of fruit, apple juice and dog biscuits! I would definitely recommend the Buckeye for both comfort and affordability.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

Wow, it sure sounds like some of us have NOT stayed at the same place. Buckeye Tree Lodge and Sequoia Village Inn are separate places. They are NOT the same. I cannot speak about Sequoia Village Inn because I have never stayed there.
We have stayed at Buckeye Tree Lodge several times. I am very surprised to hear how unhappy and disappointed others were. This is one of our favorite “get away places” for R&R from Los Angeles. It’s better than “home away from home” because we do not need to do anything, except to enjoy the beauty and serenity it brings to us.
My most recent stay was on October 31 and Nov. 1 and we always stay in the same room. It is ALWAYS clean. TV works with a choice of many channels. For the first time, we needed heat. It worked fine just like the air conditioner. The two doubles beds, pillows, blankets, and towels are clean and comfortable.
We stay in the same room because of the view of the river which is very peaceful at night as we can hear the sounds of it. Buckeye Lodge’s rustic and quaint private charm is supported by the efficient, warm, and friendly management.
If you are looking for room service, spa, valet service, door men, bar, restaurant, etc. – this is not the place to be. This is a quiet, quaint, and small lodge with the best location to the Sequoia National Forest. We will keep returning.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roselosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
10.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,965 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
19.3 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Property: Buckeye Tree Lodge
Address: 46000 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9626
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, super quiet and powerful AC/Heat, free wifi internet and free local and long distance calling. The River House at Buckeye also features a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom rental house with stunning river and mountain views, two elevated decks over the river, a full living room with 60" flat screen, dining room and incredible kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing